UCC Library: Theatre: Books & eBooks

Books for Theatre at UCC Library

UCC Library uses the 'Dewey Decimal' system. Some of the main classification numbers of relevance to Theatre include:

790 Recreational & performing arts
791 Public performances
792 Stage presentations
812 American drama in English
822 English drama
822.9 Irish drama

The majority are held on the Q+3 floor. Use the Library Catalogue to locate books.

You can search the catalogue here:

Sourcing Books from Other Libraries

New Books

Would you like to be alerted by email to new books received in the Library in your subject area? Just log into your Library Account on the Library Catalogue and save your search. See the instructions for Preferred Searches and email alerts here.

Recommend a Book for the Library

You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. Click here and fill out the e-proposal form.

How to Find a Print Book

Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks. Note:
Location: what floor it is on

Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine

Status: is it available or currently on loan?

More information here

eBooks

You can choose to search for e-books only on the E-journals & E-books page - see:

or browse by Subject:

Most of UCC Library's eBooks can be located through the Library catalogue. A 'view online' link is provided to the eBook, for example:

It is also possible to search e-book databases. E-book databases relevant for Drama & Theatre Studies include:

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
This resource is an online collection of over 6,109 books of high quality in the Humanities, accessible through institutional and individual subscription. HEB was launched in September 2002.
African Writers Series This link opens in a new window
Over 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose from Heinemann's African Writers Series, which published the key texts of modern African literature for over 40 years.
Coverage: 1946-2003
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
EEBO is a research collection of titles from 1470-1700, with over 146,000 titles, including original page images.
Ebook Central (Academic Complete) This link opens in a new window
The Ebook Central resource now incorporates a subscription to the Academic Complete titles package, which provides UCC Library with full text access to over 234,000 ebooks, across a broad range of subject areas.
UCC Library owns over 3,000 of the titles available on Ebook Central.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online Part 1 This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a vast eighteenth-century library at your desktop—a fully text-searchable corpus of books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Online runs from the 8th Century to the 21st Century and includes 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose, as well as articles from over 430 journals.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to Greek and Latin literature with accurate, literate, English translations.
William Shakespeare - OSEO This link opens in a new window
Full text access is available to all of Shakespeare’s plays within Oxford Scholarly Editions Online, in addition to 20 titles in the Early 17th Century Drama series.
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
This resource is an electronic full-text collection of early women’s writing, including renaissance women writers, covering a period from 1526 – 1850.

Online Reference Works

Top reference resources for Theatre:

Oxford Reference: Performing Arts
Search across 12 reference works:
The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre (2ed.) 2003
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance (2 ed.) 2016
Dictionary Plus Performing Arts 2010
The Grove Book of Operas (2 ed.) 2008
A Dictionary of Opera Characters (2 ed.) 2014
The Grove Book of Opera Singers (2 ed.) 2009
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre (3 ed.) 2012
The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare (2 ed.) 2015
The Oxford Companion to the American Musical 2009
The Oxford Dictionary of Plays (2 ed.) 2015
An A-Z Guide to Shakespeare (2 ed.) 2013
The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance 2010

Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
An authoritative reference work of nearly 11,000 lives for scholars of Irish history, society and culture. It tells the island’s life story through the biographies, at home and overseas, of prominent men and women born in Ireland, and the noteworthy Irish careers of those born outside Ireland.
Open Access from 2021
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Online runs from the 8th Century to the 21st Century and includes 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose, as well as articles from over 430 journals.

Theatre: Books & eBooks