Skip to Main Content

Torna Collection: Home

Tadhg Ó Donnchadha (Torna) personal collection.

About the Collection

The collection is in two parts: the first is arranged alphabetically by the author’s surname. This part was owned by Torna. The second part is arranged by the Dewey classification scheme. The second part augments Torna’s personal collection with items of related interest and include items published since the death of Torna. Both parts of the collection are unified under the prefix TTorna’s personal collection includes books and journals. The second part of the collection includes books and AV material. The entire collection comprises c. 3000 items of which two are from the 17th century, four are from the 18th century and c.500 are from the 19th century. The remainder are 20th-21st century. Languages in the collection include: Old Irish Gaelic, Irish Gaelic, Scots Gaelic, Welsh, Breton, Cornish, Latin, Old Norse, German and French.

In addition to the book/journal collection there is a large pamphlet collection. This is arranged by Dewey classification and has the collection prefix TP.

Biographical History

Professor Tadhg Ó Donnchadha (1874-1949), also known as Torna was an Irish writer, poet, editor, translator and Prof. of Irish at University College Cork (1916-1944). He was born in Cork and attended the North Monastery school. In 1892 he went to St Patrick's College, Drumcondra, Dublin and afterwards worked as a teacher in Dublin. There he was involved in events surrounding the Irish-language revival and gave classes in the city between 1893-1894. He was a founding member of the Keating branch of the Gaelic League in Dublin and edited the journal Banba. From 1902-1909 he was the editor of Irisleabhar na Gaeilge.

In 1909 he travelled to Heidelberg University to study Old Irish. On his return to Ireland, he was appointed professor of Irish at St Patrick's College, Drumcondra, Dublin. From 1916-1944 he was professor of Irish at UCC. Torna published fifty books and either wrote or translated 500 pieces of poetry. His sister was Cáit Ní Dhonnchadha (1883-1969), an activist and icon in the Irish Revival. His brothers were Canon Denis Ó Donoghue (1886–1962), PP of Bandon, Co. Cork, who edited Filíocht Mháire Bhuidhe Ní Laoighaire (1931), and Éamon Ó Donnchadha, who worked in the Irish department at UCC. He married Nóra Ní Fhoghluda (d. 1925) and Torna died on 21 October 1949.

Collection Highlights

More Information

UCC Library Archives Service holds a Tadhg Ó Donnchadha (Tórna) collection BL/SC/TÓD. The collection was deposited by Prof. Seán Ó Coileán, Roinn na Nua-Gaeilge, UCC in 1997. It was given to him to Padraig Ó Fiannachta, Coláiste Phadraig, Má Nuad, Co. Cill Dara. The collection is mss correspondence written in Irish.