UCC Library: Women's Studies: Journals and Databases

Journals and eJournals

Some useful journals for Women's Studies

Feminist Review

Gender and Society

Nora: Nordic Journal of Women's Studies

Signs

Women's studies international forum

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journal Portal (Search 'Journals' from the Library homepage).

Feminist Review

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Databases

Women's Studies is multidisciplinary so the databases that you use will come from a number of different subject areas

Our library's EBSCO and Proquest databases are a good place to start for most topics.

EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
This is an A-Z list of all subscribed and complimentary databases available via EBSCO. To search within a single database, click the database name. To select more than one database to search, check the boxes next to the databases and click Continue.
Full Text Availability: Please note that, in some databases, there may be an embargo by the publisher on providing full text access to recent journal issues and the older issues may provide abstracts only.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
This is an A-Z list of most of our ProQuest databases. These resources provide access to millions of full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, as well as access to more than 50,000 full text dissertations.

Other databases which would be useful include

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
Access is available to the following collections: the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Global Plants Collection, Hebrew Journals Collection, the Ireland Collection, the Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, Public Health Journals Collection, Security Studies Collection and Sustainability Collection.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The resource provides full text access to over 2,500 journals and over 180 UCC purchased books in all disciplines published by Elsevier Science.
Most journal coverage dates back to 1995. However, backfiles are available for the following titles:

Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications (1959-1994)
Chemical Physics (1973-1994)
Chemical Physics Letters (1967-1994)
Journal of Chromatography A (1958-1994)
Journal of Chromatography B: Biomedical Sciences and Applications (1977-1994)
Nuclear Physics B (1967-1994)
Tetrahedron (1957-1994)
Tetrahedron: Asymmetry (1990-1994)
Tetrahedron Letters (1959-1994)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities and navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

Newspapers

For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide. Click on the links below to access listed titles.

Irish Newspaper Archives This link opens in a new window
The Irish Newspaper Archives contains full text Irish newspapers from which it is possible to search, retrieve and view Ireland's past in the exact format it was published.
With many of Ireland's most prominent regional, daily and out of print titles, membership allows access to the most comprehensive and complete Irish newspaper archive available.
Irish Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The Irish Times Digital Archive is a fully searchable exact reproduction of all editions published by the Irish Times from 1859 to 2022.
Current issues of The Irish Times can be found in the European Newsstream database.
Nexis - Login using your UCC email credentials This link opens in a new window
Nexis brings together thousands of authoritative financial news, business news, legal, regulatory, company and industry research sources. Search, share, analyse and monitor information that’s continually being updated and goes back 40 years, from Irish and international newspapers, websites, blogs, trade journals and market researchers.
For Legal resources, see Lexis+ UK.