Skip to main content
ucc home Study@UCC | Research | Campus Life | Schools & Departments | About UCC | Alumni

History of Art: Getting Started

Spotlight on

Using the Library - Key Information

History of Art Department, UCC

History of Art Department

News from UCC History of Art

Introduction: History of Art at UCC Library

This guide brings together key resources for the study of History of Art at University College Cork. Use the tabs above to find:

  • Books & eBooks: eBook collections at UCC Library; how to find books
  • Journals & Databases: articles & more for your assignments & research
  • Images: finding images and advice on Copyright
  • Free Web Sources: recommended sources freely available on the web
  • Referencing: advice on writing skills and organising your references for assignments
  • PG6009: information on UCC Library's credited module for PhD students

Key Library Resources for History of Art

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. 

 

  ARTstor is a collection of over 2 million digital images offering a broad view of art, architecture and all aspects of visual and material culture, as well as archaeological and anthropological objects

 

Proquest Databasesthousands of journals, eBooks, newspapers, theses

 

 ProjeProject Muse imagect Muse:   journals from over 120 publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies etc.


 

Special Collections in UCC Library

Using your Student Card in UCC Library

History of Art

Claire O'Brien
Contact:
Liaison Librarian: Arts & Celtic Studies
Boole Library
University College Cork
+353 (21) 490-2984

Special Collections in UCC Library

Important collections of rare & older material. Collections with useful material for History of Art:
•    Book history & design: Friedlander Collection, Cuala, Dolmen and Three Candles Presses
•    Artists: Gibbings, Turner and Ungerer
•    16th - 19th century: Older Printed Books. This collection has 
•    Editions relating to specific individuals: Harry Clarke, Aubrey Beardsley, Henri Matisse, Edmund Dulac, Althea Gyles, Gustave Doré, Arthur Rackham.
For further information on Art holdings in Special Collections see here 

See also the Guide for Special Collections

UCC Library News

Loading

Copyright © 2013 Boole Library, University College Cork, College Road, Cork, Ireland. Tel. +353 21 4902292, Fax: +353 21 4273428. Email: library@ucc.ie