Skip to main content

Mathematics: Getting Started

Mathmatics in UCC

According to the Oxford English Dictionary, Mathematics is the "abstract science of number, quantity, and space, either as abstract concepts (pure mathematics), or as applied to other disciplines such as physics and engineering (applied mathematics)".

Cambridge Dictionary defines it as "the study of numbers, shapes and space using reason and usually a special system of symbols and rules for organising them."

The great George Boole, whose bicentenary occurred in 2015, was the College's first Professor of Mathematics, and occupied the position from 1849 until 1864, when he died, aged 49. During his time in Cork, he wrote The Laws of Thought, an expansion of his earlier seminal work Mathematical Analysis of Logic, and books on differential equations and finite differences.

Spotlight

  Zentralblatt MATH (zbMATH) is the world’s most comprehensive and longest-running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. Here you will find only scientifically relevant, peer-reviewed mathematical content (including bibliographic data for material not available online), making zbMATH the most comprehensive mathematical database in the world. For documents available online it provides full-text linking. To access the full feature of zbMATH, please use the Library database portal. The swMATH database is available for free.

  swMATH is a free open-access information service for the mathematical community. swMATH aims at listing high-quality mathematical software.The integration of the database swMATH in the information services of Zentralblatt MATH contributes to its sustainability. At the moment, links from software-relevant articles to zbMATH are provided. In the near future, back links from zbMATH to swMATH will be added too. Do a search on "singular" and then click on the first result; it will open up the bibliographic detail of the software.

Getting Started

This introductory guide provides information on key sources in Mathematics including

Search the Catalogue

OneSearch - Search the Library Content

Search Google Scholar

Your Student Card at UCC Library

Library News

Loading ...