Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Countess Alice Murphy Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/PP/AMM
Title:                            Countess Alice Murphy Collection
Dates:                           1870 - 1912
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          5 items
 
Administrative History:
IE BL/PP/AMM is the Countess Alice Murphy Collection held in UCC Library. This collection was donated in 2013 by the Sisters of the Good Shepard Convent, Limerick. 
 
Biographical History:
The Murphy family of Clifton, Montenotte, Cork, was a junior branch of the Murphy family, brewers of Cork. Nicholas Murphy fifth son of Jeremiah Murphy lived at Clifton. His third son John Nicholas was created a Count of the Papal States and in 1855 married Alice Mary daughter of Daniel Leahy. He was Mayor of Cork in 1854. At the time of Griffith's Valuation he held an estate in the parishes of Askeaton and Tomdeely, Barony of Connello Lower, County Limerick. The land in the parish of Tomdeely was held from Lord Southwell. In the 1870s he owned 1,352 acres in county Limerick and 24 acres in Cork city. His only child Margaret May married in 1879 (as his first wife) Daniel John Cronin Coltsmann of Glenflesk Castle, Killarney, county Kerry.

Content: 

The Alice Murphy collection consists of five 19th century photographic albums containing c.470 images of family, friends, the religious, royalty, places and costumes. Two albums concentrate on France and Switzerland respectively. Each contains images of various locations within the countries, people in costume (Swiss regions), friends and (perhaps) public figures not personally known to Countess Murphy. They are a mixture of bought images, reproductions of drawings and original photographs. The remaining albums concentrate on family and friends of Countess Murphy. Some are inscribed by Murphy and dated, or a reference to Margaret May Coltsmann. 

Access & Use

Opening Hours: 10:00 - 12:45 Monday to Friday

Access to archival collections is by prior appointment, giving at least one week's notice in advance, by completing this online form

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item descriptions (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Related Material: Murphy's Brewery Collection

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

Countess Alice Murphy with Alice (her granddaughter)