UCC Library: Criminology: Journals and Databases

Journals and eJournals

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journal Portal (Search 'Journals' from the Library homepage).

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Databases

The key multidisciplinary databases for Criminology are:

EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window This is an A-Z list of all subscribed and complimentary databases available via EBSCO. To search within a single database, click the database name. To select more than one database to search, check the boxes next to the databases and click Continue.
Full Text Availability: Please note that, in some databases, there may be an embargo by the publisher on providing full text access to recent journal issues and the older issues may provide abstracts only.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is an aggregated full-text database with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. It serves as an important resource for researchers at all levels. As well as providing access to millions of full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, it provides access to information not available in other aggregated resources such as hundreds of important, full text U.S., Canadian and International Newspapers including exclusive access to the full text of The Wall Street Journal and Los Angeles Times.
Includes 47 databases.
Thousands of full text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education and more, helping end users build a more robust results set. Concise business information from thousands of market reports across 43 industries in 40 countries, spanning the UK, Western Europe, Eastern Europe, Asia Pacific, North America, and Latin America. It covers 175 subjects including Business and Economics, Health and Medicine, News and World Affairs, Science, Education, Technology, Humanities, Social Sciences, Psychology, Literature and many more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities and navigate the full citation network. The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

Legal Databases

BAILII: British and Irish Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
BAILII provides free access to British and Irish case law & legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material.
BAILII is hosted in the UK and Ireland by the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, London and the Law Faculty, University College Cork.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a fully searchable database containing journals on US history, law, political science, business, public policy and other areas.
Lexis+ UK - Login using your UCC email credentials This link opens in a new window
This resource is a powerful online research tool offering a wealth of legal research and sources. In total it contains over 33,000 sources, with up to 30 years archive available.
For News & Business sources, see Nexis UK.
Westlaw IE This link opens in a new window
Irish legal materials database; contains Irish reported and unreported case law, consolidated/annotated legislation, and legal journals. Also offers a current awareness service providing updates on recent developments in Irish law.
Westlaw UK - Login using your UCC email credentials This link opens in a new window
Law of the United States, United Kingdom, European Union and other jurisdictions. Includes journal articles, case law and legislation. Includes CELEX database of EU legislation and case law.

Google Scholar

Newspapers

For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide.

News Sources

Irish Newspaper Archive

Irish Times Digital Archive

Irish Times Online

NexisUK