Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Criminology: Newspapers

Accessing Newspapers on Databases

The Irish Times Newspaper: Daily edition of the newspaper. Access via 'Publications' in Proquest Central. 

The Irish Times Digital Archive (1859 to 2011); Includes The Weekly Irish Times, 1876-1958.

Irish Newspaper Archives: It is the world's largest online database of Irish newspapers from which it is possible to search, retrieve and view Ireland's past in the exact format it was published. It contains Irish national, regional and historical newspaper pages including:

  • The Irish Examiner (1841 - 1949); content post-1949 forthcoming
  • Belfast Newsletter (1738 - 1890)
  • Butte Independent (1910 - 1930)
  • The Nation (1842 - 1897)

Nexis UK: Nexis UK brings together thousands of authoritative financial news, business news, legal, regulatory. company and industry research sources to provide business intelligence. Choose from 14 different language options. 

ProQuest Databases: International newspaper content from 1450+ titles. Search 'Historical Newspapers' or 'Newspapers' via Source Type in Advanced Search.

See here for the full list of newspaper databases available at UCC.

Additional Newspaper databases

LexisNexis Professional - LexisNexis
LexisNexis Professional is a powerful on-line research tool offering a wealth of news, company, legal, market research and directory sources. In total it contains over 33,000 sources with up to 30 years archive available.

UK/EIRE Reference Centre - EBSCO
The UK/EIRE Reference Centre combines British & Irish sources (including: magazines, newspapers, and reference books) with international sources to create the most complete collection of full-text research publications for UK/Irish public libraries.