Find specific electronic journals and e-books by searching the E-Journals Portal
Search the Library Catalogue to find printed journals
A 'journal' or 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).
A ‘scholarly’ or 'academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.
Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.
Databases help you to discover what has been published in the journals, in your area of research. The following are a good starting-point for a literature search for your research topic:
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
This resource provides access to Greek and Latin literature with accurate, literate, English translations.
This is an A-Z list of most of our ProQuest databases. These resources provide access to millions of full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, as well as access to more than 50,000 full text dissertations.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
OneSearch searches across a lot of the Library print AND electronic resources at the same time, including:
Information on how to use OneSearch
For access to UCC theses and theses from other Universities have a look at the Theses Guide. For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide.
