UCC Library: Greek & Roman Civilisation: Books & eBooks

Books for Classics at UCC Library

UCC Library uses the 'Dewey Decimal' system. The study of Classics covers a range of subjects so books of relevance will be found in many different parts of the Library, e.g.:

292 Classical religion (Greek & Roman religion)

472 Etymology of classical Latin

482 Etymology of classical Greek

870 Latin & related Italic literatures

880 Classical Greek & Hellenic literatures

930 History of ancient world to ca. 499

f is used to denote a larger (folio) book which won't fit on the main shelves. They will be found in the Folio section - these shelves are clearly marked Folio.

Language Dictionaries

Etymological Dictionary of Greek by Robert Beekes
Call Number: R 482 BEEK
ISBN: 9789004174184
Publication Date: 2009
Covers 2000 years of Ancient Greek: from Mycenaean via Homer and the classical period to lexicographers, such as Hesychius (5th century A.D.).It brings together all new data, resulting in scores of thoroughly revised etymologies Rich source of information on Greek and its relation to other Indo-European languages. Reference. 2 vols.
Greek English Learner's Dictionary by D. N. Stavropoulos; A. S. Hornby
Call Number: R 483STAV
ISBN: 0194311996
Publication Date: 1989
Provides information about the use of words as well as their meanings. There are numerous example sentences and phrases. It contains coverage of idioms and colloquial expressions. Reference.
Oxford Latin Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries Staff (Editor)
Call Number: f473OXFO
ISBN: 9780199580316
Publication Date: 2012
The Oxford Latin Dictionary is the world's most authoritative dictionary of classical Latin, with comprehensive coverage of the language from its beginnings until AD 200. As well as 40,000 headwords and 100,000 senses, the dictionary includes a vast collection of illustrative quotations taken from the canon of classical literature, each now conveniently arranged under the appropriate sense or subsense. Reference. 2 vols.

Sourcing Books from Other Libraries

New Books

Would you like to be alerted by email to new books received in the Library in your subject area? Just log into your Library Account on the Library Catalogue and save your search. See instructions for Preferred Searches and email alerts.

Recommend a Book for the Library

You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. Click here and fill out the e-proposal form.

How to Find a Print Book

Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks. Note:
Location: what floor it is on

Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine

Status: is it available or currently on loan?

More information here

E-books

You can choose to search for e-books only on the E-journals & E-books page - see:

Most of UCC Library's eBooks can be located through the Library Catalogue. A 'view online' link is provided to the e-book, example:

It is also possible to do a keyword search e-book databases. E-book databases relevant for Classics include:

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
This resource is an online collection of over 6,109 books of high quality in the Humanities, accessible through institutional and individual subscription. HEB was launched in September 2002.
Brill Open E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
BRILL content has a strong international focus on the Humanities and Social Sciences, International Law and selected areas in the Sciences.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
EEBO is a research collection of titles from 1470-1700, with over 146,000 titles, including original page images.
Ebook Central (Academic Complete) This link opens in a new window
The Ebook Central resource now incorporates a subscription to the Academic Complete titles package, which provides UCC Library with full text access to over 234,000 ebooks, across a broad range of subject areas.
UCC Library owns over 3,000 of the titles available on Ebook Central.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online Part 1 This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a vast eighteenth-century library at your desktop—a fully text-searchable corpus of books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to Greek and Latin literature with accurate, literate, English translations.
Open Book Publishers This link opens in a new window
Open Book Publishers (OBP), founded in 2008, is the biggest open access academic publisher of monographs in the UK and amongst the leaders in the English-speaking world. OBP has published over 350 titles, across a wide variety of disciplines.

As part of the membership scheme currently offered by OBP, titles may be downloaded in a range of formatted digital editions. As members, UCC Library is supporting Open Access publishing and the goal of making quality research available to all.
Project Gutenberg eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource contains full text books, freely available to download or read online.
The Project Gutenberg website is for human users only. Any real or perceived use of automated tools to access this site will result in a block of your IP address.

Online Reference Works

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to more than 100,000 articles.

Greek Grammar
by Herbert Weir Smyth, 1956, harvard Univ. Press. Online from Haithi Trust

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

Relevant titles within Oxford Reference Online include:

Print Reference Books

Brill's New Pauly by Hubert Cancik (Editor); Helmut Schneider (Editor); Manfred Landfester (Editor); Christine F. Salazar (Editor)
Call Number: f 938PAUL
ISBN: 9004122591
Publication Date: 2011
A lexicographic project that both differentiates between Greco-Roman antiquity itself and its subsequent images, and demonstrates the close connection between antiquity and its aftermath. 15 Vols.
Brill's New Pauly Supplements (9 vols.) by Walter Eder (Editor); Johannes Renger (Editor); Wouter F. M. Henkelman (Translator)
ISBN: 9789004153202
Publication Date: 2007-2014
This supplement to Brill s New Pauly enriches the information from the encyclopedia with its exhaustive lists of names, dates and facts about the people who shaped the Ancient World. This reference work can be used on its own or together with the encyclopedia.

Blackwell companions to the ancient world

Blackwell companions to the ancient world
13 titles in the series, including:

A Companion to Latin Literature by Stephen Harrison; Alessandro Barchiesi (Contribution by); Dominic Berry (Contribution by); Catharine Edwards (Contribution by)
Call Number: 870.9 HARR
ISBN: 9780631235293
Publication Date: 2005
an authoritative account of Latin literature from its beginnings in the third century BC through to the end of the second century AD. Provides expert overview of the main periods of Latin literary history, major genres, and key themes.
A Companion to Greek Rhetoric by Ian Worthington (Editor)
Call Number: 808 WORT
ISBN: 9781405125512
Publication Date: 2006
Traces the rise of rhetoric and its uses from Homer to Byzantium. Covers wider-ranging topics such as rhetoric's relationship to knowledge, ethics, religion, law, and emotion