Greek & Roman Civilisation: Useful Web Sources

A critical survey of websites offers links to websites devoted to Ancient Greek linguistics. The site does not include nor discuss printed resources (for digitized resources, see Textkit).

a multilingual database making the distinctive features of Early Greek epic accessible to readers with and without Greek. Except for fragments, it contains all the texts of these poems in the original Greek. In addition, the Chicago Homer includes English and German translations, in particular Lattimore's Iliad, James Huddleston's Odyssey, Daryl Hine's translations of Hesiod and the Homeric Hymns, and the German translations of the Iliad and Odyssey by Johan Heinrich Voss. Through the associated web site Eumaios users of the Chicago Homer can also from each line of the poem access pertinent Iliad Scholia and papyrus readings.

LATO. Aims to be the internet's most thorough catalogue of online copies of ancient Greek texts, both in Greek and in translation. This is a site for all with an interest in the Classics.

Latin news broadcast [online radio station]. From Finland.

The importance of such classical authors as Ovid to the art, music, and literature of western civilization is legendary, yet many are not familiar with the original works that have provided this inspiration. The University of Vermont's rare book department contains an extensive collection of illustrated works of Ovid. Included are several editions of engravings by the 17th century German artist, Johann Wilhelm Bauer, depicting 150 scenes from the Metamorphoses. Each scene has a brief description in both Latin and German. Some plates from a 1640 edition of the translation done by George Sandys are also available.

This website contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity.

The aim of the Society is to encourage students and teachers to listen to and reproduce the sounds of Greek and Latin literature, thereby enriching the appreciation of these languages. Fortunately, linguistic and metrical research of the 20th century allows us a close approximation of the pronunciation of classical Greek and Latin. We call this Restored Classical Pronunciation (see our Bibliography), and the Society guides its activities to use and promote this research as a means of preserving authenticity and deepening aesthetic pleasure in the appreciation of Greek and Latin literature.

A project to develop free of charge downloads of Greek and Latin grammars, readers and answer keys. They offer a large library of over 180 of the very best Greek and Latin textbooks on our Ancient Greek and Latin Learning pages.

A photographic archive of the archaeological and architectural remains of ancient Athens (Greece). It is intended primarily as a resource for students and teachers of classical art & archaeology, civilization, languages and history.

This website was created by Stephen Lambert and launched in 2012 with translations of the 281 inscribed laws and decrees of Athens dating to 352/1-322/1 BC (IG II3 1, 292-572). Gradually, more translations are being added, together with more information about the inscriptions, explanatory notes, and supporting academic papers (AIO Papers).

Descriptions of the collections available in the British Library - including Classical Latin manuscripts collection and Greek & Latin papyri. Some materials digitised.

DIR: An Online Encyclopedia of Roman Rulers and Their Families.

By M.R.Wright. From the University of Patras, Department of Philology.

Provides access to 51m+ artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe

Online Coins of the Roman Empire (OCRE), a joint project of the American Numismatic Society and the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at New York University, is a revolutionary new tool designed to help in the identification, cataloging, and research of the rich and varied coinage of the Roman Empire. The project records every published type of Roman Imperial Coinage from Augustus in 31 BC, until the death of Zeno in AD 491. This is an easy to use digital corpus, with downloadable catalog entries, incorporating over 43,000 types of coins.

The flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. Includes digital objects and full text. Browse collections or search.

Open Access Classics journals in French

part of the Perseus Collection - Greek & Roman materials. Classical archaeological sites - descriptions and bibliographies.

The aim of the Roman Provincial Coinage project is to produce a standard typology of the provincial coinage of the Roman Empire from its beginning in 44 BC to its end in AD 296/7. The Roman Provincial Coinage Online project is for now confined to the periods AD 96–192, 222–244 (selected provinces only) and 249–254, but other periods will be put online in the future. The database contains information on 29,825 coin types, based on 129,846 specimens (30,365 of which have images).

A site exploring Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art. The aim of the project is to provide a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion.

Publication of the Israeli Antiquities Authority. Full text from 2005 (Vol 50). Requires registration.

Issued by the Centre for the Study of Myth and Religion in Greek and Roman Antiquity, founded by the Patras University Department of Philology. Articles focus on Ancient Greek and Roman Mythology and Religion from a philological, historical, anthropological, archaeological, linguistic or philosophical point of view.

GRBS is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal devoted to the culture and history of Greece from Antiquity to the Renaissance, featuring research on all aspects of the Hellenic world from prehistoric antiquity through the Greek, Roman, and Byzantine periods, including studies of modern classical scholarship. From Vol. 1 (1958)

publishes timely open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology). This site is the authoritative archive of BMCR's publication, from 1990 to the present.

The Association provides lectures and field trips for those interested in the civilisation of Greece and Rome. It organises social and other events to bring lovers of the Classics together.

aim is to promote Ancient History and Classical Studies and to support education in these subjects throughout Northern Ireland.

A gateway to main relevant resources, developed and maintained by Maria Pantelia, Professor of Classics, Thesaurus Linguae Graecae®, University of California, Irvine

TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%).

The Eichstätt Information System for Classical Studies. Includes Bibliographic database, Numismatic image database Eichstätt

Zenon DAI: Central online catalog of the German Archaeological Institute. Includes monographs, periodicals and essays from the collections of the DAI. You can also search in the following bibliographies: "Archaeological Bibliography" of the departments in Rome, Berlin, Athens and Istanbul (with the stock since 1956), DAI Madrid Bibliography on the Archaeology of the Iberian Peninsula And "Eurasia's Archaeology Bibliography" of the Eurasia Department.

The classical sculptures in the Farnese Collection, one aspect of this large art collection, are one of the first collections of artistic items from Greco-Roman Antiquity. It includes some of the most influential classical works, including the sculptures that were part of the Farnese Marbles, their collection of statuary.

Holding rich collections, offering the visitor a panorama of ancient Greek culture from the beginning of prehistory to the late antiquity. Permanent collections include: the Sculpture Collection, which presents the evolution of ancient Greek sculpture from the 7th century. B.C. until the 5th c. AD, through unique works of art and the Vase and Minerals Collection, which includes representative works of ancient Greek ceramics from the 11th century. B.C. up to the Roman era.