Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

John L. Sullivan Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/SC/JLS
Title:                            John L. Sullivan Collection
Dates:                           1915 - 1986
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          3 cassette tapes & typescript material
 
Administrative History:
IE BL/SC/JLS is the John L. Sullivan Collection held in UCC Library. This collection was donated to the library by Máirín Mac Góráin in 2007.
 
Biographical History:
John L. Sullivan was a native of West Cork and veteran of the War of Independence. 

Content: 

The collection comprises of 3 cassette tapes of interviews conducted by Riobaird Mac Góráin. Also tss transcripts of same. The interviews were conducted in 1986 when Sullivan was aged 85.

A member of the Pro Treaty side in the Civil War, Sullivan describes his motivations and the people he encountered and served with. He also describes his earlier involvement with the Volunteer movement, his subsequent arrest and incarceration in Cork Jail and Port Laoise Prison. He describes encounters with many of the notable personalities of the period, including an encounter with Michael Collins in Bandon the day before his assassination. After the war of Independence Sullivan joined the Army Comrades and subsequently the ‘Blueshirt’ movement under the leadership of Eoin O’Duffy. In 1950 he was elected to Cork County Council and became the longest serving member there. In the course of the interview he gives his thoughts on the development of Local Authorities in Ireland and the role they play in society.

Access & Use

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item descriptions (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Collection Access: The cassette tapes are currently not available for researcher access. Access is via the transcriptions.

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

       The John L. Sullivan Collection (UCC Library)