Cartographic Visual Collection: different types of map or visual print resources.
Cooke Collection: William Cooke (1865-1955) practicising solicitor and first Lecturer in the Department of Spanish at University College Cork from 1911 to 1938. The collection consists of 2500 items and represents his extensive interest in travel, biography and history of America, Latin America, and Spain. The collection is predominantly a 19th century one (c.1000 items) with c.100 items from the 17th and 18th centuries. There are a number of 18th century literary society publications and Spanish novels.
Cork University Press Collection: Cork University Press was founded by UCC in 1925 and is the oldest commercially active university imprint in Ireland. Key works include Prof. BG MacCarthy Women Writers vol 1 & 2, and most recently the Atlas series including The Book of the Skelligs.
De Courcy Ireland Collection: Dr John de Courcy Ireland (1911-2006) was a maritime historian and broadcaster has collected a wide range of books, periodicals and ephemera. The collection includes works on: exploration & voyages, war at sea, ships, underwater exploration, natural resources and pollution.
Friedlander Collection: Elizabeth Friedlander (1903 – 1984) German artist and designer, lived in Kinsale, Co Cork. She designed covers for Penguin books, the Nonesuch Press and other publishing houses. Subject matter: Penguin and other publishers' books on book-design, layout, calligraphy and the arts and printing in general. Gerald Goldberg donated the books and some of her papers.
Robert Gibbings Collection: Robert Gibbings (1889–1958) engraver, illustrator, and author. Gibbings was born in Cork and studied briefly in University College Cork. The collection contains items with woodcuts, engravings or illustrations by Gibbings.
Hawtin Collection: Dr Gillian Hawtin donated her library of 8,000 volumes to University College Cork in 1955. She had inherited the library from her father, who was one of the early supporters of the Labour Movement in London. The material includes an extensive range of works concerning the Socialist Movement and economic history published during the formative years of the English Labour Party, as well as much of literary interest.
Langlands Collection: Bryan Langlands (1928-1989) was Professor and Head of the Department of Geography at Mackerere University in Kampala, Uganda. The material received comprises c4,000 books and geographic journals focusing on the African Continent and East Africa in particular.
Munster Printing Collection: a historical and literary collection of items printed in Munster from the late 17th century to the present.
Frank O'Connor Collection: Born Michael Francis O'Connor O'Donovan (1903 – 10 March 1966), writer. This is his personal library.
Older Printed Books: Items published before 1851; many items were purchased between 1849 (when the College was founded) and 1900 and some were received from institutions such as the Royal Cork Institution or the old Cork Public Library.
University Collection: The collection was formed in the wake of the University’s 175th anniversary in 2020. The collection comprises printed and published items from the University.
X Collection: The collection consists of post-1850 books which are rare, unique or of special interest e.g., out of print and valuable, signed by an author of note, special printing, fine bindings, special formats or first editions.
