The oceans and their inhabitants have been an endless source of fascination, evoking both wonder and terror. The items in Case 2 focus on the growing scientific understanding of marine biology, particularly in the 19th century, alongside the emerging public awareness of life below water. As in the present day, people's exposure to the "wonders of the deep" was typically through media, particularly in the form of illustration and photography. The 19th century also saw the opening of the world's first public aquarium at London Zoo in May 1853. The descriptions accompanying the images include facts about different species, linking them with the targets of SDG 14.
Yarrell, William. A History of British Fishes. Vol. 1. London: J. Van Voorst, 1836. [Friedlander Collection]
William Yarrell (1784–1856) was an English bookseller, zoologist, and naturalist, best known for A History of British Fishes (1836) and A History of British Birds (1843). Both works were admired for their scope and scientific accuracy, with A History of British Fishes becoming the standard reference work for a generation of British Ichthyologists.
Salmon are considered keystone species playing an essential role in the health of our river ecosystems. They are indicators of healthy aquatic life and are sensitive to pollutants. Wild Salmon are seriously threatened mainly due to global increase in water pollution and overfishing. We can help salmon in many ways, especially by taking responsibility for our own sustainable practices, from what goes down our drain to where we buy our fish from.
Yarrell, William. A History of British Fishes. Vol. 1. London: J. Van Voorst, 1836. [Friedlander Collection]
Basking Sharks are migratory and are the second largest fish on the planet. They are the largest found in Ireland and are easily recognised with their large gaping mouths containing 1500 teeth, however are considered gentle giants. Basking Sharks are vulnerable to international overfishing and are globally at high risk of extinction. The targets of SDG 14 aim to end harmful fishing practices and enforce international laws of protection.
Forbes, Edward. A History of British Starfishes. London: J. Van Voorst, 1841. [Older Printed Books Collection]
Edward Forbes (1815-1854) was a Manx naturalist, credited as a founding father of the science of marine biology. His publications include A History of British Starfishes (1841) and A History of British Mollusca and Their Shells (1848-1853).
Forbes, Edward. A History of British Starfishes. London: J. Van Voorst, 1841. [Older Printed Books Collection]
Starfish and Sea Urchins are known as Echinoderms and there are over 7000 species worldwide. Starfish have the ability to regenerate their limbs and even their internal organs. They are considered a keystone species, by feeding on mussels and barnacles they keep the ecological balance of marine life.
Starfish are vulnerable to pollution, habitat damage, and sea temperatures rising. Outbreaks of species such as the Crown-of-thorns starfish can have a negative impact on their environment and are one of contributing factors to the destruction of coral reefs.
Günther, Albert. An Introduction to the Study of Fishes. Edinburgh: A. and C. Black, 1880. [Older Printed Books Collection]
Albert Günther (1830-1917) was a British zoologist, ichthyologist, and herpetologist. His major work was the eight volume Catalogue of Fishes (1859-1870), published by the Ray Society.
As the title suggests, his Introduction is a general work aiming to "give in a concise form an account of the principal facts relating to the structure, classification, and life-history of fishes." Published in 1880, it draws on the recent discoveries of the Challenger expedition.
Gosse, Philip Henry. Actinologia Britannica: A History of the British Sea-Anemones and Corals. London: Van Voorst, 1860. [Friedlander Collection]
Philip Henry Gosse (1810-1888) was an English naturalist and marine biologist. He wrote extensively on natural science and was a prominent populariser of the subject.
Gosse was a member of a conservative Christian sect and rejected the theory of evolution, with his views on the subject set forth in his book Omphalos (1857).
Gosse, Philip Henry. The Aquarium: An Unveiling of the Wonders of the Deep Sea. London: Van Voorst, 1856. [Hawtin Collection]
Gosse was also an innovator and populariser of the seawater aquarium. He created the first public aquarium at the London Zoo in 1853 and coined the term "aquarium" with the publication of The Aquarium: An Unveiling of the Wonders of the Deep Sea in 1854. Following its publication, the book led to a boom in household aquariums in Britain.
Wood, John George. The Common Objects of the Sea-shore: Including Hints for an Aquarium. [London]: [George Routledge & sons, limited]; [New York]: [E. P. Dutton & co.], [1905]. [X Collection]
John George Wood (1827–1889) was an English writer and “Parson-naturalist” who popularised natural history with his writings.
Both seagrass and seaweed can play a significant role in sustainability. An area of seagrass absorbs 35% as much carbon as same area of rainforest while seaweed has the potential for multiple uses, including as a sustainable alternative to plastic.
Stephenson, Thomas Alan. Seashore Life and Pattern. London: King Penguin, 1944. [Friedlander Collection]
Thomas Alan Stephenson (1898-1961) was a British naturalist and marine biologist who specialising in sea anemones. He was a member of the Great Barrier Reef Expedition. Seashore Life and Pattern is a pictorial book containing illustrations based on patterns and structures in nature, with a particular focus on sea urchins and anemones.
Stephenson, Thomas Alan. Seashore Life and Pattern. London: King Penguin, 1944. [Friedlander Collection]
Anemones are carnivorous and known as flowers of the sea. They are loved by humans however their tentacles send out a deadly sting to catch their prey. Anemone's are vulnerable to pollution, habitat damage, rising sea temperatures, and species collection and trade.
