Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Cartographic Visual: Getting Started

A variety of different types of map or visual print resources.

About the Collection

This collection has a variety of different types of map or visual print resources. The tabs at the top of the page will help you find:

All items from this collection must be used in the Rare Books Reading Room. Go to each tab to find out more about access, use and reprographics.

Contact Us

‚ÄčAll material is for use in Special Collections & Archives only. It cannot be used elsewhere in the library or borrowed. Most material has to be requested in advance: 

Special Collections & Archives: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie 

Special Collections & Archives: 021 490 2282.

Please use the dedicated email and phone number:

  • To request books, theses and more
  • To reserve a machine for using microform
  • Queries about the collections

Special Collections & Archives is located in Q-1, Boole Library, UCC.

Contact Elaine Harrington, Special Collections Librarian.

Contact Emer Twomey, Archivist, UCC Library.

Collection Highlights

The Cork River (from below the Glanmire Road)

IE BL/CV/TP/Cork/12 The Cork River (from below the Glanmire Road)

Topographical Prints Collection

Pacific Overtures - or - a Flight from St Cloud's - over the Water to Charley - a new Dramatic Peace now Rehearsing

IE BL/CV/PolP/N/12 Pacific Overtures - or - a Flight from St Cloud's - over the Water to Charley - a new Dramatic Peace now Rehearsing

Political Prints Collection

Opening Hours

As per Irish Government direction from midnight 21 October 2020 for 6 weeks all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5.

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any collection queries or other queries please email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

In order to facilitate research queries, a virtual appointment service for Special Collections and Archives will shortly be established and details will be forthcoming.