Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Cartographic Visual: Political Prints

A variety of different types of map or visual print resources.

About Political Prints

Collections of 18th and 19th century satirical prints on political topics, including prints relating to the Napoleonic era and Daniel O'Connell.

  • Dates: 1763-1844

  • Extent: 24 items

  • Content: Prints

  • Languages: English

Access & Use

Items from the collection must be requested in advance.

They must be used in the Rare Books Reading Room in Special Collections & Archives.

See Special Collections & Archives' Opening Hours for the hours when this room is open.

Samples of Political Prints

Pacific Overtures - or - a Flight from St Cloud's - over the Water to Charley - a new Dramatic Peace now Rehearsing

IE BL/CV/PolP/N/12 Pacific Overtures - or - a Flight from St Cloud's - over the Water to Charley - a new Dramatic Peace now Rehearsing

The Beggar and The Queen

IE BL/CV/PolP/DOC/7 The Beggar and The Queen

Giants - Triumphant. A design for the new door to the Treasury

IE BL/CV/PolP/N/8 Giants - Triumphant. A design for the new door to the Treasury

New Patent Safety Cab

IE BL/CV/PolP/DOC/6 New Patent Safety Cab

Tiddy-Doll, the Great French-Gingerbread-Baker; Drawing Out a New Batch of Kings, His Man Hopping Talley, Mixing Up the Dough

IE BL/CV/PolP/N/10 Tiddy-Doll, the Great French-Gingerbread-Baker; Drawing Out a New Batch of Kings, His Man Hopping Talley, Mixing Up the Dough

Reprographics & Copyright

Items in the Political Prints Collection are out of copyright.

As many items are annotated the individual copies of each work are considered unique, therefore please fill in the appropriate form before taking photographs or scanning pages.

As some items may be fragile please check with Archives & Special Collections' staff if photography or scanning is possible.

In addition if reprographics are required for publication then permission to use the material must be sought from the Special Collections Librarian.

Opening Hours

As per Irish Government direction from midnight 21 October 2020 for 6 weeks all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5.

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any collection queries or other queries please email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

In order to facilitate research queries, a virtual appointment service for Special Collections and Archives will shortly be established and details will be forthcoming.