Skip to main content

Special Collections: Home

Special Collections is home to manuscripts, older printed books and unique & distinct collections.

Opening Hours

We are open Monday to Friday with core times of 10:00-16:45. The library website has semester and holiday opening hours.

Contact Special Collections

Special Collections, Q-1,
Boole Library
University College Cork
Cork
+353 (21) 490-2282 

specialcollections@ucc.ie

Staff

Please use the Special Collections' dedicated email and phone:

  • To request books, theses and more
  • To reserve a machine for using microform
  • Queries about the collections

To ensure the best service is given, please contact the Special Collections staff via the dedicated email or phone.

  • Sheyeda Allen, Senior Library Assistant (Full-time)
  • Mary Lombard, Library Assistant (Full-time)
  • Pat Downing, Library Assistant (Part-time)

Advice to Readers

Other Areas

For information about:

Forthcoming guides will include:

  • Collections
  • Historical Sources
  • Manuscripts
  • Subject Support for Academics
  • Subject Support for Students

What is Special Collections?

Special Collections is home to UCC's unique collections of literary manuscripts, early printed books pre-1850, books from printing presses, collections donated from individuals, 18th - 20th century newspapers, theses, maps, pamphlets and microfilm.

Special Collections are “elements of distinction that serve to differentiate an academic or research library from its peers” (Dooley & Luce).

We, in Special Collections, have a dual role, not only to facilitate current research but also to care and conserve these unique and distinctive materials for future users. 

Special Collections staff members work with students and faculty to support learning and teaching at UCC offering access to unique primary sources through instruction sessions and exhibitions. Special Collections also serves the research needs of external scholars, hosting researchers from around the globe interested in using the collections. Special Collections has achieved international recognition in several specific areas of research, most notably: Irish studies; Celtic studies, and Frank O'Connor.

Special Collections Librarian

Elaine Harrington's picture
Elaine Harrington
Contact:
Special Collections, UCC Library, University College Cork, Cork, Ireland
+353 (21) 490-3484
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page

News

To order items from either of these newly caftalogued collections please email specialcollections@ucc.ie

River- side Social Media

Opening Hours

We are open Monday to Friday with core times of 10:00-16:45. The library website has semester and holiday opening hours.