Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Special Collections' & Archives' Subject Support: Home

How Special Collections can help you with your research, teaching, learning & assignments.

Contact Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections & Archives, Q-1,
Boole Library
University College Cork
Cork
+353 (21) 490-2282 

specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Please use the dedicated email and phone number.

Selected for President’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching 2016/17

Listen to Dr Malgorzata D'Aughton (School of History) & Dr Jillian Rogers (Dept. of Music) discussing their selection for a President's Award for Excellence in Teaching 2016/2017, specifically for innovative pedagogies and embedding research in the curriculum. They were particularly keen to point out the role that their collaboration with UCC Library plays in their teaching and research.

Subject Support for our Collections

We, in Special Collections & Archives, have a dual role, not only to facilitate current research but also to care and conserve these unique and distinctive materials for future users. To learn more about searching and using these materials go to the relevant guide:

Special Collections & Archives' staff members work with students and faculty to support learning and teaching at UCC offering access to unique primary sources and the reference sources that support them through instruction sessions and exhibitions. 

Students can click on the relevant tab to learn more about useful collections and sources for that subject area. You are always welcome to contact us if you have a question. 

Staff are always welcome to contact us for an informal chat about potential teaching sessions.

Why Use Special Collections & Archives?

Items from the collections can be used to support group teaching and we encourage members of staff to contact us to organise classes using such material. Special Collections & Archives staff can assist in teaching classes by providing an introduction to Special Collections & Archives' services and the collections as well as providing guidance on finding and requesting material for study. 

Using our collections:

  • Helps develop a clear understanding of the role of original material in research
  • Increases students' knowledge in locating primary resources in UCC's Library's collections and elsewhere
  • Gives students unique insight into their subject and the possibility of original research opportunities, and brings teaching and learning to life for both academics and students

Special Collections & Archives staff are also happy to meet with teaching staff to help develop assignments or modules based on our collections.

Special Collections Librarian

Elaine Harrington's picture
Elaine Harrington
Contact:
Special Collections & Archives, UCC Library, University College Cork, Cork, Ireland
+353 (21) 490-3484
Website

Archivist

Emer Twomey's picture
Emer Twomey
Contact:
Archivist,
Special Collections & Archives,
UCC Library,
University College Cork.
+353 (21) 490-3475
Website

Archivist

Emma Horgan's picture
Emma Horgan
Contact:
Library Archivist,
Special Collections and Archives,
UCC Library,
University College Cork.
+353 (21) 490-3132

Opening Hours

As per Irish Government direction from midnight 21 October 2020 for 6 weeks all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5.

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any collection queries or other queries please email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

In order to facilitate research queries, a virtual appointment service for Special Collections and Archives will shortly be established and details will be forthcoming.