Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Special Collections' & Archives' Subject Support: History

How Special Collections can help you with your research, teaching, learning & assignments.

Spotlight on Student Exhibition

2020: Mapping Cork: Trade, Culture & Politics in Late Medieval & Early Modern Ireland Exhibition

Special Collections, UCC Library is delighted to welcome students engaging with our collections. We in Special Collections consider that an online exhibition contributes to our mission of ‘connecting people with ideas.’  This exhibition, presented as a series of blog posts using the Civitates orbis terrarum map of Cork as a starting point, emerges from the HI6091 module (2016/2017) co-taught by Dr Małgorzata Krasnodębska-D’Aughton and Ms Elaine Harrington, among others. 

For the students creating this online exhibition, a wider variety of skills including critical analysis of texts, awareness of copyright restrictions, object handling, teamwork and communication are developed. For History students at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels, Special Collections represent research facilities that provide specialised support and access to stimulating resources.

UCC Library considers the end results of exhibits that celebrate campus scholarship to be invaluable. This online exhibition is the third digital output created as part of the MA in Medieval History and is presented as a series of blog posts. The exhibition celebrates the on-going collaboration between the School of History and UCC Special Collections, building on the University’s rich tradition of medieval scholarship and through the online output reaches beyond the walls of UCC. More importantly, the project has been completed during the COVID-19 crisis and its completion is a great testimony to the value of teamwork and collegiality, and the commitment of the MA students to produce high quality research during challenging times.

All involved in the project wish to acknowledge the generosity of the National Library of Ireland, Trinity College Dublin’s Digital Collections, the Cork Historical and Archaeological Society, the Library of Congress and the University of Utrecht for allowing us to use their images of MS 700, the Hardiman Atlas, Blackrock Castle and both editions of Civitiates Orbis Terrarum respectively.

2019: Luttrell Psalter Exhibition

Special Collections, UCC Library is delighted to welcome students engaging with our collections. We in Special Collections consider that an online exhibition on the Luttrell Psalter contributes to our mission of ‘connecting people with ideas.’  This exhibition, presented as a series of blog posts, emerges from the HI6091 module (2016/2017) co-taught by Dr Małgorzata Krasnodębska-D’Aughton and Ms Elaine Harrington, among others.

For the students creating this online exhibition, a wider variety of skills including critical analysis of texts, awareness of copyright restrictions, object handling, teamwork and communication are developed. UCC Library considers the end results of exhibits that celebrate campus scholarship to be invaluable. This online exhibition is the second digital output created as part of the MA in Medieval History, following the success of an online exhibition on the Book of Kells. The exhibition, presented as a series of blog posts and focusing on the Luttrell Psalter celebrates the on-going collaboration between the School of History and UCC Special Collections. The exhibition builds on the University’s rich tradition of medieval scholarship and for History students at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels, Special Collections represent research facilities that provide specialised support and access to stimulating resources.

All involved in the project wish to acknowledge the generosity of the British Library for allowing us to use their images of the Luttrell Psalter. 

2017: Book of Kells Exhibition

Special Collections, UCC Library is delighted to welcome students engaging with our collections. We in Special Collections consider that an online exhibition on the Book of Kells contributes to our mission of ‘connecting people with ideas.’  This exhibition, presented as a series of blog posts, emerges from the HI6091 module co-taught by Dr Małgorzata Krasnodębska-D’Aughton and Ms Elaine Harrington, among others. 

For the students creating this online exhibition, a wider variety of skills including critical analysis of texts, awareness of copyright restrictions, object handling, teamwork and communication are developed. UCC Library considers the end results of exhibits that celebrate campus scholarship to be online exhibition is the first digital output created as part of the MA in Medieval History. The exhibition, presented as a series of blog posts and focusing on the Book of Kells, stems from collaboration between the School of History and UCC Special Collections. The exhibition builds on the University’s rich tradition of medieval scholarship and in particular on the contribution of Dr Jennifer O’Reilly. Her ground-breaking research on Insular manuscripts, history, art history and theology combined with her inspirational teaching has left a lasting scholarly legacy and inspired a new generation of scholars and students. This exhibition pays tribute to her scholarship. 

All involved in the project wish to thank TCD Manuscripts Department for their generosity in providing images from the Book of Kells free of charge.

Credit: The Four Evangelist Symbols, The Book of Kells, TCD MS 58, folio 129v © Trinity College Dublin.

Introduction to Special Collections' History Resources

Special Collections has a wide range of sources to assist research in medieval, early modern and modern History. These sources range from:

Introduction to Archival Collections at UCC Library

UCC Library Archives Service has a range of collections to assist research in medieval, early modern and modern history. These sources range from:

Landed Estate collections:

Socio-Political collections:

Business (socio-economic) Collections:

Local History:

  • The Hurse Collection: draft typed copy with mss corrections of the publication Monkstown and Passage West, Co. Cork, Some Notes, Historical, Archaeological & Otherwise by A.E. Hurse (M.Inst.C.E.) (1923)
  • The E. & G. Moore Collection: hardback notebook of mss copy of “The Bells of Shandon with The Annals of the Church of St. Annes Shandon, Cork

Medieval History:

Opening Hours

As per Irish Government direction from midnight 21 October 2020 for 6 weeks all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5.

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any collection queries or other queries please email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

In order to facilitate research queries, a virtual appointment service for Special Collections and Archives will shortly be established and details will be forthcoming.