Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Special Collections' & Archives' Subject Support: Early & Medieval Irish

How Special Collections can help you with your research, teaching, learning & assignments.

Introduction to Early & Medieval Irish Resources

Special Collections & Archives have a wide range of sources to assist research in Early & Medieval Irish. Such sources may be reference works including manuscript catalogues, manuscript bibliographies or edited texts of Irish manuscripts e.g. Irish Texts Society and Scriptores Latini Hiberniae.

There is a range of journals available: Analecta Bollandiana, Analecta Hibernica, Celtica, Irish Ecclesiastical Record, Journal of Celtic Studies and Revue Celtique

The collection of the late Professor Tadhg Ó Donnchadha (Torna), Professor of Irish at University College Cork (1916-1944) forms the nucleus of a research collection for Celtic Studies. Torna's collection has been augmented by purchases of material of related interest published since the death of Torna. His original collection is organised by author surname with the subsequent material organised by Dewey. There is also a very small Tadhg Ó Donnchadha (Tórna) Collection (archival) that may be of interest. 

In addition Special Collections holds the following collections:

Of interest to students may be the archival collection containing Professor Riobáird Breathnach’s (1913-1975) working academic papers, chiefly compiled during his tenure as Professor of Old and Middle English at UCC from 1967 until his retirement in 1972. Material is primarily concerned with Anglo-Saxon, Medieval, and Modern English, as well as Medieval and Modern Irish. 

Spotlight

This frontispiece depicts Brian Boru and is opposite the title page of Keating's A General History of Ireland (1723). This copy was printed in Dublin and was owned by John Windele, a noted Cork antiquarian in the 19th century. 

Opening Hours

As per Irish Government direction from midnight 21 October 2020 for 6 weeks all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5.

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any collection queries or other queries please email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

In order to facilitate research queries, a virtual appointment service for Special Collections and Archives will shortly be established and details will be forthcoming.