Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Special Collections' & Archives' Subject Support: Home

How Special Collections can help you with your research, teaching, learning & assignments.

Contact Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections & Archives, Q-1,
Boole Library
University College Cork
Cork
+353 (21) 490-2282 

specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Please use the dedicated email and phone number.

Subject Support for our Collections

We, in Special Collections & Archives, have a dual role, not only to facilitate current research but also to care and conserve these unique and distinctive materials for future users. To learn more about searching and using these materials go to the relevant guide:

Special Collections & Archives' staff members work with students and faculty to support learning and teaching at UCC offering access to unique primary sources and the reference sources that support them through instruction sessions and exhibitions. 

Students can click on the relevant tab to learn more about useful collections and sources for that subject area. You are always welcome to contact us if you have a question. 

Staff who'd like to book a session in Special Collections & Archives can fill in the booking formYou are always welcome to contact us for an informal chat about potential teaching sessions.

Why Use Special Collections & Archives?

Items from the collections can be used to support group teaching and we encourage members of staff to contact us to organise classes using such material. Special Collections & Archives staff can assist in teaching classes by providing an introduction to Special Collections & Archives' services and the collections as well as providing guidance on finding and requesting material for study. 

Using our collections:

  • Helps develop a clear understanding of the role of original material in research
  • Increases students' knowledge in locating primary resources in UCC's Library's collections and elsewhere
  • Gives students unique insight into their subject and the possibility of original research opportunities, and brings teaching and learning to life for both academics and students

Special Collections & Archives staff are also happy to meet with teaching staff to help develop assignments or modules based on our collections.

Selected for President’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching 2016/17

Listen to Dr Malgorzata D'Aughton (School of History) & Dr Jillian Rogers (Dept. of Music) discussing their selection for a President's Award for Excellence in Teaching 2016/2017, specifically for innovative pedagogies and embedding research in the curriculum. They were particularly keen to point out the role that their collaboration with UCC Library plays in their teaching and research.

Special Collections Librarian

Elaine Harrington's picture
Elaine Harrington
Contact:
Special Collections & Archives, UCC Library, University College Cork, Cork, Ireland
+353 (21) 490-3484
Website

Archivist

Emer Twomey's picture
Emer Twomey
Contact:
Archivist,
Special Collections & Archives,
UCC Library,
University College Cork.
+353 (21) 490-3475
Website

Archivist

Emma Horgan's picture
Emma Horgan
Contact:
Library Archivist,
Special Collections and Archives,
UCC Library,
University College Cork.
+353 (21) 490-3132

Opening Hours

Following Government directives that higher education institutions should close, UCC physical campus is closed. If you have any queries relating to our collections please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie as this email address will be monitored regularly. 

Face-to-face services at Special Collections & Archives have resumed in a limited capacity as of 20 July 2020: Monday-Friday 10-12:45. Please note that we will have reduced capacity due to social distancing measures, and access will be by appointment only. Walk-ins and same-day requests will not be possible. To book items & a workspace please click HERE.

UCC Library's new Scan and Deliver Service is now live! Submit a request and we'll scan a book chapter/journal article and deliver it to you via email. There will be limited access to material from Special Collections. Every effort will be made to fulfill requests but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.