Skip to main content

Library Re-opening

UCC Library is committed to reopening both Boole and Brookfield libraries as soon as it is safe to do so: the safety of library users and staff is the chief guiding principle. Read more about our plans and schedule for re-opening our Libraries .

Please see our policies regarding re-opening here

Archives Service: Getting Started

Opening Hours

Following Government directives that higher education institutions should close, UCC's physical campus is closed. If you have any queries relating to our collections please email Special Collections & Archives as this email address is monitored regularly.

Face-to-face services at Special Collections & Archives will resume in a limited capacity from 20 July 2020.  Our opening hours are Monday-Friday 10:00-12:45. Please note that we will have reduced capacity due to social distancing measures, and access will be by appointment only. Walk-ins and same-day requests will not be possible. Further information on accessing our Service can be found HERE. To request items & a workspace please click HERESubmitting a request through our online booking form does not guarantee or confirm a booking.

We want to make your visit as enjoyable, productive and safe as possible. To do that, we’ll need to work together.  We would especially ask you to follow all the public health advice, and not to come to Special Collections & Archives if you’re feeling unwell.

Keeping everyone in our buildings safe is our first priority, so there will be some changes to how you access and use our services. We apologise in advance for any delays and trust you will understand. We look forward to seeing you from 20 July.

About UCC Library Archives

An active collecting repository, the Library Archives Service collects and administers archival collections generated from outside UCC which complement the research and teaching needs of University College, Cork. 

Archives are records naturally created in the course of everyday business, public or private, which merit preservation because of their unique information content.

Archives include photographs & photograph albums; audio and audio visual recordings; computer disks and memory sticks; paper-based records: manuscripts, letters, diaries bound volumes; maps from landed estate collections; and artworks. They may also include entire collections from private individuals.

The word archives is also used to describe the building in which archival material is stored and accessed.

Spotlight on Archival Collection

Elizabeth Friedlander Archival Collection

Elizabeth Friedlander (Born 1903 Berlin, Germany – d.1984 in Kinsale, Ireland) was a German born designer who spent her life producing bookwork, calligraphy, and decorative designs.  Born in 1903, she studied typography and calligraphy under E.R. Weiss at the Berlin Academy. Her magazine work for Die Dame, published by Ullstein attracted the attention of Georg Hartmann of the Bauer Type Foundry in Frankfurt, and he invited her to design a typeface. This was to become known as Elisabeth- Antiqua — Elizabeth in English-speaking countries — the first typeface formally recognised as being designed by a woman.

Nazi persecution forced her into exile.  She obtained a Domestic Service permit for Britain and went to London where Francis Meynell found work for her and became a supportive friend. By 1942 she was in charge of design at Ellic Howe's black propaganda unit, where she produced forged Wehrmacht and Nazi rubber stamps, false ration books, and so on, while at the same time carrying out freelance commissions.  In the early 1960s Friedlander retired to County Cork, Ireland, where with failing eyesight she continued working and took up gardening.  She died in 1984.  Many of her works were privately donated to the University College Cork by the Goldberg family, to whom she had left her papers to after her death. 

Archives

Emer Twomey's picture
Emer Twomey
Contact:
Archivist,
Special Collections & Archives,
UCC Library,
University College Cork.
+353 (21) 490-3475
Website

Archives

Emma Horgan's picture
Emma Horgan
Contact:
Library Archivist,
Special Collections and Archives,
UCC Library,
University College Cork.
+353 (21) 490-3132