30 December 2020 - present: As per Irish Government direction from midnight 30 December 2020 all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions.
Update: 28 January 2021: From Monday 1 February we are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:
Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.
Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are unavailable during Level 5.
If you have any queries relating to our collections please email Special Collections & Archives This email address is monitored regularly.
An active collecting repository, the Library Archives Service collects and administers archival collections generated from outside UCC which complement the research and teaching needs of University College, Cork.
Archives are records naturally created in the course of everyday business, public or private, which merit preservation because of their unique information content.
Archives include photographs & photograph albums; audio and audio visual recordings; computer disks and memory sticks; paper-based records: manuscripts, letters, diaries bound volumes; maps from landed estate collections; and artworks. They may also include entire collections from private individuals.
The word archives is also used to describe the building in which archival material is stored and accessed.
Elizabeth Friedlander (Born 1903 Berlin, Germany – d.1984 in Kinsale, Ireland) was a German born designer who spent her life producing bookwork, calligraphy, and decorative designs. Born in 1903, she studied typography and calligraphy under E.R. Weiss at the Berlin Academy. Her magazine work for Die Dame, published by Ullstein attracted the attention of Georg Hartmann of the Bauer Type Foundry in Frankfurt, and he invited her to design a typeface. This was to become known as Elisabeth- Antiqua — Elizabeth in English-speaking countries — the first typeface formally recognised as being designed by a woman.
Nazi persecution forced her into exile. She obtained a Domestic Service permit for Britain and went to London where Francis Meynell found work for her and became a supportive friend. By 1942 she was in charge of design at Ellic Howe's black propaganda unit, where she produced forged Wehrmacht and Nazi rubber stamps, false ration books, and so on, while at the same time carrying out freelance commissions. In the early 1960s Friedlander retired to County Cork, Ireland, where with failing eyesight she continued working and took up gardening. She died in 1984. Many of her works were privately donated to the University College Cork by the Goldberg family, to whom she had left her papers to after her death.