Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Archives Service: Getting Started

Opening Hours

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email Special Collections & Archives as this email address is monitored regularly.

As per the Department of the Taoiseach from midnight 30 November, and into January, all counties are placed on Level 3 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice for travel is: Stay in your county apart from work, education and other essential purposes. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Special Collections and Archives Services will return to level 3, with appointments resuming from Wednesday the 2nd of December. 

Special Collections will open for appointments from Monday to Friday 10:00am -12:45pm. Appointments can be made here

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

About UCC Library Archives

An active collecting repository, the Library Archives Service collects and administers archival collections generated from outside UCC which complement the research and teaching needs of University College, Cork. 

Archives are records naturally created in the course of everyday business, public or private, which merit preservation because of their unique information content.

Archives include photographs & photograph albums; audio and audio visual recordings; computer disks and memory sticks; paper-based records: manuscripts, letters, diaries bound volumes; maps from landed estate collections; and artworks. They may also include entire collections from private individuals.

The word archives is also used to describe the building in which archival material is stored and accessed.

Spotlight on Archival Collection

Elizabeth Friedlander Archival Collection

Elizabeth Friedlander (Born 1903 Berlin, Germany – d.1984 in Kinsale, Ireland) was a German born designer who spent her life producing bookwork, calligraphy, and decorative designs.  Born in 1903, she studied typography and calligraphy under E.R. Weiss at the Berlin Academy. Her magazine work for Die Dame, published by Ullstein attracted the attention of Georg Hartmann of the Bauer Type Foundry in Frankfurt, and he invited her to design a typeface. This was to become known as Elisabeth- Antiqua — Elizabeth in English-speaking countries — the first typeface formally recognised as being designed by a woman.

Nazi persecution forced her into exile.  She obtained a Domestic Service permit for Britain and went to London where Francis Meynell found work for her and became a supportive friend. By 1942 she was in charge of design at Ellic Howe's black propaganda unit, where she produced forged Wehrmacht and Nazi rubber stamps, false ration books, and so on, while at the same time carrying out freelance commissions.  In the early 1960s Friedlander retired to County Cork, Ireland, where with failing eyesight she continued working and took up gardening.  She died in 1984.  Many of her works were privately donated to the University College Cork by the Goldberg family, to whom she had left her papers to after her death. 

Archives

Emer Twomey's picture
Emer Twomey
Contact:
Archivist,
Special Collections & Archives,
UCC Library,
University College Cork.
+353 (21) 490-3475
Website

Archives

Emma Horgan's picture
Emma Horgan
Contact:
Library Archivist,
Special Collections and Archives,
UCC Library,
University College Cork.
+353 (21) 490-3132