Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections & Archives' Outreach & Engagement: The River-side

How Special Collections & Archives interacts with the world.

About the Riverside

RiversideThe River-side: Reflections on Research Collections is the social media presence of Special Collections, Archives and Research & Digital Services in UCC Library, and comprises a blog and Twitter account.

Both platforms communicate information about the Library’s unique & distinctive collections and projects or events relating to the collections. Our focus is the printed, archival and electronic publications in Special CollectionsArchives and Research & Digital Services. The River-side blog welcomes guest posts from students and staff engaging with our collections as means for ‘connecting people with ideas.’ 

The blog and Twitter account @theriversideUCC are produced by staff from Special Collections, Archives and Research & Digital Services. The blog is updated on a regular basis. @theriversideUCC is updated daily.

Image Caption: "Illustrated Half-title." Millikin, R. A. The River-side: A Poem. Cork: J. O'Connor, 1807.

The River-side: Reflections on Research Collections' Blog:   http://blogs.ucc.ie/wordpress/theriverside/

The River-side: Reflections on Research Collections' Twitter Account:  http://twitter.com/theriversideUCC

The Riverside: Reflections on Research Collections

Loading ...

@theriversideUCC

Opening Hours

From 16 May 2022 until further notice: Special Collections & Archives will be open Monday-Friday (excluding public holidays) to UCC staff and students, and members of the public. 

  • Microform & Reference Reading Rooms: Monday-Friday 11:00-16:30.
  • Rare Books Reading Room: Monday-Friday: 11:00-13:00 & 14:00-16:30.

Closed: 6 June and 1 August 2022. Late evening openings on Wednesdays will resume 14 September 2022.

For more information about what items must be requested and to request them via the online request form see Request Special Collections & Archives.

In addition we continue offering:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie. This email address is monitored regularly.