Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Special Collections & Archives' Outreach & Engagement: Previous Events

How Special Collections & Archives interacts with the world.

Boole & The Laws of Thought

In 2015, UCC celebrated the bicentenary of George Boole, 1815-64. Boole was born in Lincoln and was a largely self-taught mathematical genius. He was appointed to UCC, then known as Queen's College Cork in 1849. This provided him with the opportunity to develop his most important work, An Investigation of the Laws of Thought. For more about Boole and the events celebrating George Boole 200 see here.

Credit: George Boole 200: Timeline of Life Events

Caption: George Boole's signature on An Investigation of the Laws of Thought. 

Gothic Exhibition Loan to the British Library

Special Collections was approached by the British Library in late 2013 regarding the possibility of a loan for their then-upcoming exhibition: Terror and Wonder: The Gothic Imagination. The item the British Library sought was The Orphan of the Rhine by Eleanor Sleath.

The Terror and Wonder exhibition coincided with the 250th anniversary of the publication of The Castle of Otranto which was the first Gothic novel. The exhibition took a comprehensive look at the history of (primarily) British Gothic literature and its wide-ranging influence up to the present day. One of the key Gothic texts that the British Library featured was Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey (1818). In particular, they were interested in bringing together the seven “horrid novels” mentioned in the text which were long thought to have been made up by Austen. The British Library holds five of the novels but were missing Horrid Histories (London, 1796) and The Orphan of the Rhine (Dublin, 1802). As far as they knew this would have been the first time that the seven “horrid novels” would be exhibited together in Britain and Ireland.

            

Caption: The Orphan of the Rhine title page (volume 1) and cataloguing stamp (volume 2). 

Opening Hours

As per Irish Government direction from midnight 21 October 2020 for 6 weeks all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5.

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any collection queries or other queries please email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

In order to facilitate research queries, a virtual appointment service for Special Collections and Archives will shortly be established and details will be forthcoming.