Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections & Archives' Outreach & Engagement: Digitised Irish Language Manuscripts

How Special Collections & Archives interacts with the world.

Irish Language Manuscripts

Special Collections, UCC Library holds a number of distinct collections of Gaelic Manuscripts. The largest of these, the Torna Collection (111 MSS), formed the collection of Prof. Tadhg Ó Donnchadha (Torna), Prof. of Irish at UCC (1916-1944). This collection came into the possession of UCC following the death of Torna in 1949 and has been catalogued by Prof. Pádraig de Brún in Clár Lamhscríbhinní Gaeilge Choláiste Ollscoile Chorcaí: Cnuasach Thorna (1967).

Seventy-seven manuscripts formed the collection of Professor James E.H. Murphy, Professor of Irish at Trinity College Dublin (1896-1919). A catalogue of this collection has been compiled by Dr Breandán Ó Conchuir: Clár Lamhscríbhinní Gaeilge Choláiste Ollscoile Chorcai: Cnuasach Uí Mhurchú (1991).

Other manuscripts belonged to Canon Patrick Power, Lecturer in and later Prof. of Archaeology at University College Cork (1915-1932).

Highlights from the UCC Collection include a version of Geoffrey Keating’s Foras Feasa ar Éirinn in a 17th-century hand (Ls 92) and the recent donation of The Book of Lismore. The digitised version of The Book of Lismore is present on Irish Script on Screen.

Irish Script on Screen (ISOS)

The objective of Irish Script on Screen (ISOS) is to create digital images of Irish manuscripts, and to make these images, together with relevant commentary, available online. UCC Library is delighted to participate in ISOS and in doing so providing access some of our most important heritage collections. 

Images from Irish Script on Screen (ISOS)

Ls 92: A 17th Century Paper Manuscript

Ls 92 is a 17th century paper manuscript. This map of Ireland is bound in between f123 and f124.  

Caption: Ls 92 f.[123a]r 

Opening Hours

From 30 May - 9 September 2022: Special Collections & Archives will be open Monday-Friday (excluding public holidays) 11:00-16:30. We are open to UCC staff and students, and members of the public. 

Closed: 1 August 2022. Late evening openings on Wednesdays will resume 14 September 2022.

 

For more information about what items must be requested and to request them via the online request form see Request Special Collections & Archives.

 

In addition we continue offering:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie. This email address is monitored regularly.