Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Special Collections & Archives' Outreach & Engagement: Displays

How Special Collections & Archives interacts with the world.

Rare Books Reading Room Display

For 2019 the year long display focused on the Noel O'Connell and Irish Literary Society Collections.  Both collections are particularly strong on Irish Studies. The introduction discusses each collection and how they came to UCC Library. 

  • January - February: Music
  • March - April: Literature
  • May - October: History (guest curated by Natasha Dukelow)
  • November - December: Printing in the Irish Language

Previous Year-Long Displays

In 2018 the year long displayed focused on the Hawtin Collection which is particularly rich with 19th century and early 20th century printings. 

Matters French

 
Credit: Caussin, Nicolas. The Holy Court, in five books. Trans. Thomas Hawkins. Corke: Printed and sold by Eugene Swiney, 1767.
 
Matters French was curated by Prof. Patrick O'DonovanDept. of French, UCC firstly as a physical exhibition to celebrate the occasion of the 2018 Annual conference of the Society for French Studies in UCC. Matters French returned as on online exhibition for Heritage Week 2018.

Opening Hours

As per Irish Government direction from midnight 21 October 2020 for 6 weeks all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5.

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any collection queries or other queries please email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

In order to facilitate research queries, a virtual appointment service for Special Collections and Archives will shortly be established and details will be forthcoming.