Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Special Collections & Archives' Outreach & Engagement: Home

How Special Collections & Archives interacts with the world.

How We Engage with Our Community

Special Collections & Archives, UCC Library is delighted to welcome all who wish to engage with our collections and services. Such engagement may be through:

  • our social media platforms: The River-side Blog and our Twitter presence
  • exhibitions in the dedicated space on Q floor, Boole Library
  • our digital collections: Manuscripts on Irish Script on Screen and the Henebry Wax Cylinder Collection
  • playing with our collections
  • stand-alone events or events associated with exhibitions
  • seasonal guides to tie into events.

Special Collections Librarian

Elaine Harrington's picture
Elaine Harrington
Contact:
Special Collections & Archives, UCC Library, University College Cork, Cork, Ireland
+353 (21) 490-3484
Website

Library Archivist

Emer Twomey's picture
Emer Twomey
Contact:
Archivist,
Special Collections & Archives,
UCC Library,
University College Cork.
+353 (21) 490-3475
Website

Archivist

Emma Horgan's picture
Emma Horgan
Contact:
Library Archivist,
Special Collections and Archives,
UCC Library,
University College Cork.
+353 (21) 490-3132

Opening Hours

As per Irish Government direction from midnight 21 October 2020 for 6 weeks all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5.

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any collection queries or other queries please email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

In order to facilitate research queries, a virtual appointment service for Special Collections and Archives will shortly be established and details will be forthcoming.