Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Special Collections' & Archives' Subject Support: Folklore

How Special Collections can help you with your research, teaching, learning & assignments.

Introduction to Folklore Resources

Special Collections & Archives have a wide range of sources to assist research on Folklore. Such sources include an authorised copy of UCD's National and Schools' Folklore Collections, the journal Bealoideasreference books for studying folklore in Ireland,1st edition Ordnance Survey maps or maps on microform, local history journals and complementary items for specific areas such as herbals.

There are number of archival collections that contain material of interest. These include;

Contained within personal papers and landed estates collections can be sketchbooks, scrapbooks, diaries, or photographs belonging to individuals that illustrate their travels around Ireland, England and Europe, giving a snapshot of landscape/wildlife visited and observed, and sometimes even mementos preserved e.g. dried flowers/fauna. These archival collections include;

Spotlight

Béaloideas is the Journal of the Folklore of Ireland Society in Ireland. The object of the society as noted in the editorial of the first issue of Béaloideas, (June 1927) was to collect, preserve and publish the folklore of Ireland. Béaloideas is part of Special Collections Serials and is also available on JSTOR.

Opening Hours

As per Irish Government direction from midnight 21 October 2020 for 6 weeks all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5.

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any collection queries or other queries please email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

In order to facilitate research queries, a virtual appointment service for Special Collections and Archives will shortly be established and details will be forthcoming.