Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections' & Archives' Subject Support: Art

How Special Collections can help you with your research, teaching, learning & assignments.

Introduction to Art Resources

Special Collections & Archives have a wide range of items and collections to assist research on Art. In some cases the collection may be of interest as with the fine printing presses of Cuala, Three Candles and Dolmen Presses, whereas in others it may be the provenance that is of more interest: Robert Gibbings Collection or Elisabeth Friedlander Collection (library).

We also hold the Elizabeth Friedlander Collection (archives) containing the working papers of a graphic designer famed for her intricate boarder designs, and her custom designed font 'Elizabeth', as well as a small collection of letters relating to Cuala Press (1922-1939).

Within the landed estate collections 19th & 20th century sketchbooks and scrapbooks belonging to individuals illustrate their travels around Ireland, England and Europe, giving a snapshot of places and people visited, as well as different artistic styles and materials used (pencil/pastel/watercolour).These archival collections include:
The Bantry Estate Collection (Co. Cork)
The Bantry Estate Collection: Ancillary (Co. Cork)

Spotlight

The selection of bookplates held within the library is varied with a number of reference works also present. 

Reference works include:

Bookplates within the collection include: 

This image contains two of the bookplates held within Elizabeth Friedlander's collection: that of Alexander Magri MacMahon and Walter Toscanini. When Queen's College Cork became UCC in 1908 a new bookplate for the library was required. Robert Gibbings designed the replacement bookplate. 

Art Course & Module Guides

All PDF documents are available as Word documents. Please contact e.harrington@ucc.ie should this be required.

Opening Hours

From 30 May - 9 September 2022: Special Collections & Archives will be open Monday-Friday (excluding public holidays) 11:00-16:30. We are open to UCC staff and students, and members of the public. 

 

Closed: 6 June and 1 August 2022. Late evening openings on Wednesdays will resume 14 September 2022.

 

For more information about what items must be requested and to request them via the online request form see Request Special Collections & Archives.

 

In addition, we continue offering:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie.

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials. Due to the time-consuming nature of fulfilling requests across multiple microfilm reels rather than journal articles/book chapters there is a limit of 5 items in a week. 

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie. This email address is monitored regularly.