Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Special Collections' & Archives' Subject Support: Academic Staff: Request a Class

How Special Collections can help you with your research, teaching, learning & assignments.

Teaching Spaces

Our diverse collections of rare printed books and unique manuscripts can be used to support teaching within the University.

Update: Please be advised that for 2020/2021 we in Special Collections & Archives are open to discussing options for delivering teaching with collections. Special Collections & Archives has three different spaces available which can be used by teaching groups who need to work with the collections. However due to social distancing the maximum capacity of each space below has changed:

  • Reference Reading Room (capacity max 6 people)
  • Rare Books Reading Room (capacity max 6 people). Items to be examined will be used in this room. Please note this room also houses a book scanner.  
  • Microform Room (capacity max 2 people) Equipment within: Microform Readers, Reader/Printers and Reader/Scanners.

We would advise contacting us first to discuss what is possible Given that other users will also request access to the same spaces we would ask for a minimum of a fortnight's notice to request a class appointment. 

Preparing for A Visit

  • The guidelines that apply to using the Special Collections & Archives' Reference Reading Room also apply to our teaching spaces. Please distribute these guidelines to your students before class.
  • Before entering the reading rooms staff and students will be asked to place their coats and bags in our storage space. 
  • Pencils only, notebooks or laptops are permitted in the readings rooms. We have plenty of pencils!

Infographic on Academic Year 2019-2020

If you have any feedback, comments or questions please contact e.harrington@ucc.ie

Opening Hours

As per Irish Government direction from midnight 21 October 2020 for 6 weeks all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5.

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any collection queries or other queries please email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

In order to facilitate research queries, a virtual appointment service for Special Collections and Archives will shortly be established and details will be forthcoming.