Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Special Collections' & Archives' Subject Support: BEES

How Special Collections can help you with your research, teaching, learning & assignments.

Activities with School of Biological Earth & Environmental Sciences

Each year Special Collections welcomes a Transition Year group from the School of BEES. The School of BEES Transition Year Programme gives secondary school students the chance to discover science at UCC in a structured way by studying and working alongside BEES staff and students for a week. The students have the opportunity to work in different areas including Plant Science, Zoology, Environmental Science and Geology. Part of the School of BEES Transition Year Programme includes visits to the Eureka Centre, the Boole Library and a guided tour of UCC campus.

Read these blog posts about the students' experiences on the Transition Year Programme:  2012201320142015 and 2016

Students in previous years have viewed:

                

Spotlight on Resources

John K'Eogh's Botanalogia Universalis Hibernica is listed in the Queen's College Cork catalogue of 1860. John K'Eogh (c.1681–1754) was a clergyman and naturalist, and was born in Strokestown and educated by his father prior to attending Trinity in 1705. He was chaplain to the 4th Baron Kingston at Mitchelstown Castle.

The Botanalogia is an alphabetical list of plants growing in Ireland, with their names given in English, Latin, and Irish. It describes the plants' medicinal properties and was based mainly on the plants grown in Kingston's garden. The work is of historical value as evidence of the plants which were cultivated at that time, which include orange and lemon trees grown in what was a very early greenhouse. The Botanalogia remained for many years as one of the standard reference works on the flora of this island. K'Eogh also wrote Zoologia Medicinalis Hibernica (Dublin, 1739); and A Vindication of the Antiquities of Ireland (Dublin, 1748).

Further information relating to various plants may also be found in a herbal. An example of this is Salmon's English Herbal. Salmon's English Herbal gives a detailed entry on "Bears Breech."

Archival Collections

Contained within personal papers/landed estates collections can be sketchbooks/scrapbooks/diaries/photographs belonging to individuals that illustrate their travels around Ireland, England and Europe, giving a snapshot of landscape/wildlife visited and observed, and sometimes even mementos preserved e.g. dried flowers/fauna. 

Some Estates may have surviving hunting/game/fishing records of wildlife over a number of decades e.g. pheasant/rabbit, or activities of the land or coastline e.g. farming/forestry/fishery under their Estate Administration section.

These archival collections include:

Opening Hours

As per Irish Government direction from midnight 21 October 2020 for 6 weeks all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5.

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any collection queries or other queries please email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

In order to facilitate research queries, a virtual appointment service for Special Collections and Archives will shortly be established and details will be forthcoming.