Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Special Collections' & Archives' Subject Support: English

How Special Collections can help you with your research, teaching, learning & assignments.

Introduction to English Resources

Special Collections & Archives have a wide range of sources to assist research in English. Such sources may be:

One of the earliest PhD theses Special Collections holds is BG MacCarthy's Women's Contribution to the Development of the English Novel: 1621-1818 (1939).

The Archives Service offers a variety of individuals' and organisations' collections that may be of interest. These include;

Spotlight

Special Collections holds a copy of Joyce's Ulysses with black and white illustrations by Henri Matisse, signed by both Joyce and Matisse. This copy is no. 682  of 1500 copies commissioned by George Macy, the founder of the Limited Editions. Matisse completed drawings based on six episodes from Homer’s epic poem Odyssey rather than from Joyce's Ulysses. Once Joyce realised this he stopped signing the limited edition. Therefore UCC Library's Special Collections' copy is unusual as both James Joyce and Henri Matisse have signed it. 

Opening Hours

As per Irish Government direction from midnight 21 October 2020 for 6 weeks all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5.

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any collection queries or other queries please email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

In order to facilitate research queries, a virtual appointment service for Special Collections and Archives will shortly be established and details will be forthcoming.