Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Special Collections' & Archives' Subject Support: Modern Irish

How Special Collections can help you with your research, teaching, learning & assignments.

Introduction to Modern Irish Resources

Special Collections & Archives have a wide range of sources to assist research in Modern Irish. Such sources may be reference works including manuscript catalogues, manuscript bibliographies or edited texts of Irish manuscripts e.g. Irish Texts Society and Scriptores Latini Hiberniae. There is a range of journals available: Analecta BollandianaAnalecta HibernicaCeltica, Irish Ecclesiastical RecordJournal of Celtic Studies and Revue Celtique

In addition Special Collections holds the following collections:

  • Over 300 Irish language manuscripts from the 17th-19th centuries. A selection of these are digitised on Irish Script on Screen
  • Irish Literary Society and the Irish Texts Society. For more relating to these collections see here
  • Seán Ó Riordáin (1916-1977), poet and essayist, lecturer in the Department of Modern Irish at UCC (1969-1976). His annotated collection reflects the poet's interests in worldwide literature. There is also a small amount of ephemera, material removed during the cataloguing of his library, that now forms a Seán Ó Riordáin collection (archival) .
  • The collection of the late Professor Tadhg Ó Donnchadha (Torna), Professor of Irish at University College Cork (1916-1944) forms the nucleus of a research collection for Celtic Studies. Torna's collection has been augmented by purchases of material of related interest published since the death of Torna. His original collection is organised by author surname with the subsequent material organised by Dewey. There is also a very small Tadhg Ó Donnchadha (Tórna) collection (archival) that may be of interest. 

In addition, the Archives Service has a number of other collections of interest:

Spotlight on Ls 90

About Ls 90

Ls. 90 is part of the Power manuscript collection and was acquired by UCC Library in November 1941. Ls. 90 has two manuscripts bound together: “Beatha Finnchua” or “The Life of St Finchua of Bri-Golbhuinn” and “The Ancient Topography of The Two Fermoys.” Both manuscripts are dual language texts with Irish on the left-hand side page and the English version on the right-hand side page. Seosamh Ó Longáin transcribed “Beatha Finnchua” in 1856 for Fr. Dómhnall Ó Cathasaigh. Throughout “Beatha Finnchua” are lavishly decorated initial letters and animals in the margin (see examples below) “The Ancient Topography of the Two Fermoys” is copied from The Book of Lismore. Seoasamh Ó Longáin also copied this in 1856 for Revd. Daniel Casey. This is also dual-language in the same manner as the previous text but without any of the decorated initial letters or animals. For more about the Ó Longáin family read this blog post.

Opening Hours

As per Irish Government direction from midnight 21 October 2020 for 6 weeks all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5.

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any collection queries or other queries please email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

In order to facilitate research queries, a virtual appointment service for Special Collections and Archives will shortly be established and details will be forthcoming.