UCC Library: Special Collections' & Archives' Subject Support: Theatre

Introduction to Theatre Resources

Special Collections & Archives have a wide range of sources to assist research in Theatre. Such sources include:

U.242: an 18th century commonplace manuscript book with entries on theatre
material relating to Cork Theatre Royal and Cork Opera House
Irish literary and cultural journals such as The Dublin Magazine or The Bell
publications on The Gate and The Abbey
various theatre souvenir programmes as part of personal libraries or archives
The Nancy McCarthy Collection contains archival material relating to the Cork Drama League and various 20th century Irish actors/writers.
The Papers of Daniel Corkery contain archival material relating to the Cork Dramatic Society (1908), of which Corkery was a founding member, and his numerous plays.

Theatre Module Guides

All PDF documents are available as Word documents. Please contact e.harrington@ucc.ie should this be required.

Spotlight on 18th Century Commonplace Book

U.242 p.8: Transcription of Prospectus for construction of new Cork Theatre, 26 June 1759.

U.242 p.159 - 160: Proposal for a Colonnade for the Playhouse by Samuel Hobbs, architect, 5 November 1783, with plan and list of subscribers [159-162].

U2.242 p.161 - 162: Proposal for a Colonnade for the Playhouse by Samuel Hobbs, architect, 5 November 1783, with plan and list of subscribers [159-162].

U.242 p.196: "Theatrical Intelligence." [196 - 198].

U.242 p.197 - 198: "Theatrical Intelligence" [196-198].

Opening Hours

Piloting extended opening hours 26 February-23 August 2024

All rooms: Monday-Friday 10:00-16:30.
Microform & Reference Reading Room: Wednesday: 10:00-19:15 (Semester Only*).
Closed: Weekends, Public Holidays & Christmas Week.

*Excluding January and Easter Recess.

For further details see the Library Calendar.

We are open to UCC staff and students, and members of the public. For more information about what items must be requested and to request them via the online request form see Request Special Collections & Archives.

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie.