Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Special Collections' & Archives' Subject Support: Languages

How Special Collections can help you with your research, teaching, learning & assignments.

Introduction to Languages Resources

Special Collections & Archives have a wide range of sources to assist research on languages, literatures and culture. These vary dependent on the language being studied and vary from collections donated by individuals to thematic collections such as Transmissions & Transformations of the Ancient World.

French:

  • Byrne Costigan: Ethna Byrne Costigan (1904-1991) was Professor of Romance Languages in UCC (1939-1969). We also hold a small collection of Byrne Costigan academic papers created by found during the cataloguing of her library.
  • Older Printed Books
  • O'Flaherty-Servais: Kathleen O'Flaherty (1916-1994) was a lecturer and professor (1930s, 1970 – 1982) in UCC's Department of French. Yvonne Servais (?- 1994) was also a lecturer (1953- 1982) in the same department.
  • The Ryan of Inch Collection: 18th & 19th century letters and military awards in French to various members of the Ryan family.

German:

Spanish, Portuguese and Latin Studies:

  • Cooke: William Cooke (1865-1955) was the first lecturer (1911-1938) in the Department of Spanish at UCC.
  • Older Printed Books
  • Sexton: Lieut.-Col. Sexton, a graduate of UCC and surgeon in the Indian Medical Service, donated many items including a number of items to UCC from 1889 onwards.
  • The Ryan of Inch Collection: 18th century Spanish documents related to the employment of Don Jorge Rian or George Ryan (1748-1805) with the Spanish Government. Sent to live with an uncle in Spain when 9, he accompanied his widowed aunt and her second husband to Peru aged 16, and in 1770 he was appointed Sergeant Major of the regiment of Militia of Guanta.

Italian:

Heritage Week - Matters French: An Online Exhibition

Caussin, Nicolas. The Holy Court, in five books. Trans. Thomas Hawkins. Corke: Printed and sold by Eugene Swiney, 1767.

Spotlight

Philipp Andreas Nemnich (1764–1822) was a German lexicographer. In 1799 he compiled a commercial dictionary in twelve languages, the Waaren-lexicon (Dictionary of wares) of 1797-1802. In parallel with this dictionary he compiled an edition for publication in England: Universal European Dictionary of Merchandise: in the English, German, Dutch, Danish, Swedish, French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, Polish and Latin Languages.

Opening Hours

As per Irish Government direction from midnight 21 October 2020 for 6 weeks all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5.

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any collection queries or other queries please email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

In order to facilitate research queries, a virtual appointment service for Special Collections and Archives will shortly be established and details will be forthcoming.