Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections: Data Protection

Special Collections is home to manuscripts, older printed books and unique & distinct collections.

Data Protection Notice (GDPR)

At University College Cork, we treat your privacy seriously. Any personal data which you provide to the University will be treated with the highest standards of security and confidentiality, in accordance with Irish and European Data Protection legislation. This notice sets out details of the information that we collect, how we process it and who we share it with. It also explains your rights under data protection law in relation to our processing of your data.

Opening Hours

12 September - 21 December 2022: All rooms: Monday-Friday (excluding public holidays) 11:00-16:30.

Microform & Reference Reading Rooms: Wednesday: 11:00-19:15. 

Closed: 31 October 2022. 

We are open to UCC staff and students, and members of the public. 

 

For more information about what items must be requested and to request them via the online request form see Request Special Collections & Archives.

 

In addition, we continue offering:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie.

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials. Due to the time-consuming nature of fulfilling requests across multiple microfilm reels rather than journal articles/book chapters there is a limit of 5 items in a week. 

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie. This email address is monitored regularly.