Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections: Acquisitions & Donations

Special Collections is home to manuscripts, older printed books and unique & distinct collections.

Donations

Due to restrictions of space and budget, only items which comply with our Collection Development Policies can be accepted. In this context, all donations are assessed by the relevant staff member before being accessioned.

Once a donation is accepted, UCC Library becomes the owner of the material and as such reserves the right to determine its retention, location and other considerations relating to its use, maintenance or disposal.  Please note all donations are made on the understanding that the donor is the legal owner, and that donated material may be disposed of in the future, at the discretion of the Librarian, in a manner similar to other Library holdings.

Opening Hours

From 16 May 2022 until further notice: Special Collections & Archives will be open Monday-Friday (excluding public holidays) to UCC staff and students, and members of the public. 

  • Microform & Reference Reading Rooms: Monday-Friday 11:00-16:30.
  • Rare Books Reading Room: Monday-Friday: 11:00-13:00 & 14:00-16:30.

Closed: 6 June and 1 August 2022. Late evening openings on Wednesdays will resume 14 September 2022.

For more information about what items must be requested and to request them via the online request form see Request Special Collections & Archives.

In addition we continue offering:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie. This email address is monitored regularly.