Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Spaces & Equipment: Home

Spaces & equipment available in Special Collections and Archives.

Spaces in Special Collections & Archives

Space & Equipment Overview

Take a virtual tour of Special Collections & Archives.

Special Collections & Archives has different rooms best suited to the type or age of material, or the type of activity:

  • Use the Reference Reading Room to access reference collections and requested materials.
  • Use the Microform Room to access microfilm and microfiche of maps, newspapers, manuscripts, parliamentary papers, literary manuscripts, journals and census.
  • Use the Rare Books Reading Room to access archival items, manuscripts, items printed pre-1950, fragile and outsize items.

Special Collections & Archives has different equipment to access the different types of material in its care. In the:

  • Rare Books Reading Room there is a book scanner
  • Microform Room there are microform reader/scanners and microform reader/printers.

Ask at the Special Collections & Archives' Information Desk for:

  • A light sheet to illuminate watermarks in books and other bound items
  • A blacklight torch for reading faded ink handwriting.

If you have questions or comments about the spaces or equipment please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie.

Opening Hours

As per Irish Government direction from midnight 21 October 2020 for 6 weeks all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5.

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

If you have any collection queries or other queries please email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

In order to facilitate research queries, a virtual appointment service for Special Collections and Archives will shortly be established and details will be forthcoming.