Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Spaces & Equipment: Book Scanner

Spaces & equipment available in Special Collections and Archives.

Book Scanner banner

Book Scanner

UCC Library Special Collections and Archives Service have an i2S book scanner with cradle for reprographics of archival and special collections’ material up to A3 size for students, staff and external readers.

Material is scanned to a USB key as there is no printer is linked to the machine.

Scanning options include:

  • File format: TIFF, PDF or JPEG
  • Resolution of dpi: 200, 300 or 400
  • Colour: Colour or greyscale
  • Single page or multipage, but JPEGs can only be single page.
  • OCR or not.

Any of these options can be used in combination.

To scan material in general collections please consult this guide.

 

Using the Book Scanner

  1. Select ENTER once. Ignore password request. Light turns on automatically.
  2. Insert USB stick in monitor (left side) and select Destination USB.
  3. To continue click anywhere on blue background outside of ‘Customise Area.’
  4. Place book on cradle and adjust cradle as required to support book spine.
  5. Use menu on right to rotate / contract / colour (greyscale option) etc if required.
  6. Scan page. You can accept or refuse the image. If you are happy with the quality, select ‘Do not remind me again.’ Move to next page when scanning is finished.
  7. Items are shown as saved on the bottom of the monitor.
  8. We recommend scanning more than 20 pages in batches.
  9. If another document type is needed: Click New Document.
  10. When finished Log Out (top right) and remove USB key.

 

Book Scanner login screen

 

Book Scanner scan example

 

Click for a PDF version:    Book Scanner Quick Guide

Click for a PDF version:    Book Scanner Full Guide

Configuration Options

  1. Folder Name:
    • Default is Year-Month-Date-Time. To customise folder name: select ‘Custom.’ Enter text with on screen keyboard & press ‘Enter.’
  2. File format:
    • Use TIFF for high quality photos (very large file size)
    • Use PDF for text
    • Use JPEG for lower quality photos (smaller file size)
  3. Output format options
    • Use Multipage if scanning more than one page with text.
    • Use PDF with Text if you want output with OCR.
  4. Quality
    • Use small 200 dpi for low resolution results
    • Use standard 300 dpi for standard resolution results
    • Use large 400 dpi for best resolution results
  5. Scan Area
    • Use Maximum if you want to scan the entire cradle
    • Use Automatic if you want to scan only the item on the book cradle.
  6. Frames
    • Single left only / single right only / both separately / as one sheet

 

Book Scanner configuration page

 

Terms and Conditions

  1. Copying must be within fair use terms as understood under the Copyright Act. Please fill out appropriate reprographics form for each title:
    • Copyright: Published Material for Purpose of Research & Study
    • Copyright: Unpublished Material for Purpose of Research & Study
    • Copyright: Published Material for Purpose of Publication
    • Copyright: Unpublished Material for Purpose of Publication
  2. Reprographic requests remain dependent on the condition of the item and if it is being scanned for research/private use or for publication.
  3. Staff and students who wish to take images with a camera may still do so however there is greater functionality in using the book scanner.
  4. Special Collections and UCC Library Archives no longer provide a photocopying service as the act of photocopying negatively impacts the condition of the book.
  5. For self-service scanning there is no charge to operate the i2S book scanner. However, if you are unable to operate under the self-scanning model charges will apply to all users. 
  6. Please ensure the appropriate request form is completed and permission sought from Elaine Harrington, Emer Twomey or Emma Horgan for requests for publication.

 

Contact Us

If you have questions or comments about using the Book Scanner, please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie.