Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Cartographic Visual: Topographical Prints

A variety of different types of map or visual print resources.

About Topographical Prints

A collection of 18th and 19th century topographical prints relating to locations across Ireland and depicting a diverse range of landscapes and townscapes, including tranquil lakes and mountains, quiet ruins of medieval castles and abbeys, bustling streets and harbours, grand estates and national monuments.

  • Dates: 1739-1896

  • Extent: 346 items

  • Content: Prints, Artwork

  • Languages: English, French, German

Access & Use

Items from the collection must be requested in advance.

They must be used in the Rare Books Reading Room in Special Collections & Archives.

See Special Collections & Archives' Opening Hours for the hours when this room is open.

Samples of Topographical Prints

Carricrohane Castle–River Lee

IE BL/CV/TP/Cork/10 Carricrohane Castle–River Lee

The Cork River (from below the Glanmire Road)

IE BL/CV/TP/Cork/12 The Cork River (from below the Glanmire Road)

Glengariff Castle

IE BL/CV/TP/Cork/20 Glengariff Castle

Adare Manor

IE BL/CV/TP/Limerick/3 Adare Manor

The Quay, Waterford

IE BL/CV/TP/Waterford/8 The Quay, Waterford

View of Cashel in the County of Tipperary

IE BL/CV/TP/Tipperary/1 View of Cashel in the County of Tipperary

Lislaghtin Abbey Co. Kerry

IE BL/CV/TP/Kerry/ 12 Lislaghtin Abbey Co. Kerry

The South East Prospect of Ye Cathedral of St. Patrick's Dublin

IE BL/CV/TP/DublinCity/21 The South East Prospect of Ye Cathedral of St. Patrick's Dublin

Glen of the Downs

IE BL/CV/TP/Wicklow/3 Glen of the Downs

The Abbey at Castle Dermot

IE BL/CV/TP/Kildare/3 The Abbey at Castle Dermot

Lac Derg dans le Comte de Tirconnel ou Donegal

IE BL/CV/TP/Donegal/7 Lac Derg dans le Comte de Tirconnel ou Donegal

Map of Topographical Prints

Reprographics & Copyright

Items in the Topographical Prints Collection are out of copyright.

As many items are annotated the individual copies of each work are considered unique, therefore please fill in the appropriate form before taking photographs or scanning pages.

As some items may be fragile please check with Archives & Special Collections' staff if photography or scanning is possible.

In addition if reprographics are required for publication then permission to use the material must be sought from the Special Collections Librarian.

Opening Hours

Face-to-face services at Special Collections & Archives have resumed in a limited capacity as of 20 July 2020: Monday-Friday 10-12:45. Please note that we will have reduced capacity due to social distancing measures, and access will be by appointment only. Walk-ins and same-day requests will not be possible. To book items & a workspace please click HERE.

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie. This email address is monitored regularly.

UCC Library's new Scan and Deliver Service is now live! Submit a request and we'll scan a book chapter/journal article and deliver it to you via email. There will be limited access to material from Special Collections. Every effort will be made to fulfill requests but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.