Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cartographic Visual: Topographical Photographs

A variety of different types of map or visual print resources.

About Topographical Photographs

Collections of photographs from the 19th and early 20th century of locations in Belgium, Egypt, England, France, India, Ireland, Italy and Scotland, including a collection of photographs produced by the French studio Bisson Frères.

  • Dates: [1834-1914]
  • Extent: 96 items
  • Contents: Photographs
  • Languages: English, French, Italian

Access & Use

Items from the collection must be requested in advance.

They must be used in the Rare Books Reading Room in Special Collections & Archives.

See Special Collections & Archives' Opening Hours for the hours when this room is open.

Samples of Topographical Photographs

BL/CV/PhT/Italy/Florence/2 FIRENZE – La Cattedrale da Or S. Michele

BL/CV/PhT/Italy/Milan/2 Duomo di Milano

BL/CV/PhT/Scotland/2 Glencoe, The Scene of the Massacre

BL/CV/PhT/England/3 York Minster West towers

BL/CV/PhT/Italy/1 Bellagio ed i Due Laghi

Reprographics & Copyright

Items in the Topographical Prints Collection are out of copyright.

As many items are annotated the individual copies of each work are considered unique, therefore please fill in the appropriate form before taking photographs or scanning pages.

As some items may be fragile please check with Special Collections & Archives' staff if photography or scanning is possible.

In addition if reprographics are required for publication then permission to use the material must be sought from the Special Collections Librarian.

Opening Hours

From Monday 13th September 2021 Special Collections and Archives is open Monday-Thursday (excluding public holidays). Special Collections & Archives are closed on Fridays. We are open strictly by appointment, to UCC staff and students, and members of the public. Individual Reading Room opening hours are as follows:

  • Reference Reading Room & Microform Room: Monday, Tuesday & Thursday: 11:00-16:30 and Wednesday: 11:00-19:15.
  • Rare Books Reading Room: Monday - Thursday: 11:00-13:00 & 14:00-16:30.

Access will be by appointment only. Walk-ins and same-day requests will not be possible. To book items & a workspace please click HERE.

 

In addition we continue offering:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie.

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials. Due to the time-consuming nature of fulfilling requests across multiple microfilm reels rather than journal articles/book chapters there is a limit of 5 items in a week. 

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie. This email address is monitored regularly.