Skip to main content

Library Re-opening

UCC Library is committed to reopening both Boole and Brookfield libraries as soon as it is safe to do so: the safety of library users and staff is the chief guiding principle. Read more about our plans and schedule for re-opening our Libraries .

Remote Working: Home

Home

A vast number of Library Services and Collections are available remotely to all UCC Staff and Students during the University closure.
 
Access to OneSearch, the library catalogue, CORA and other web-based interfaces are all accessible from the library website for users conducting online research. All online library collections such as electronic journals, electronic books and online databases are accessible remotely via the library website for UCC affiliates.

Please read the announcement from our Director of Library Services  here

Please see our Plans for re-opening here

On this page we have gathered together some of those resources which can be accessed off campus .

New Service -

Scan & Deliver

Scan and deliver is a free electronic document delivery service from UCC Library. Submit a request here and we'll scan a book chapter or a journal article and deliver it to you electronically.

Read More

New Service -

Click & Collect

Request an item from the Library Catalogue.We will organise a time for you to collect the item from the Boole Library.

Read More

New Service -

Special Collections & Archives Appointments

Book an appointment with our Special Collections and Archives Section.

Read More

New Service - Quad Reading Room Reservations

Book a seat for individual study in the Quad Reading Room

Read More

Our FAQ offers solutions to common questions. Please see a sample of our most recent Answers below.

We are pleased to tell you that an inter-library loan service for electronic items only is now available. Due to the continued closure of library buildings we cannot process requests for physical items. However, we will investigate the purchase of e-books as an alternative where possible.

Library Staff are working with our various publishers and suppliers of library collections to increase our eBook holdings during this time. Please see here for the latest additions to our eBook and other online collections.

We hope that our guides are useful but if you have any queries , questions or need help with anything , we are here to help. Don't be shy , we love helping people so you'll actually be doing us a favour!

The Library is delighted to offer our Learning Resources on Canvas. Available to all students and staff , you will find the slides, links to documents, webpages, and videos for classes delivered by the Library's Learning & Teaching Team.

We have created a guide to searching for digital versions of Printed material. There are many ways to find that must read book you need.

The Library has a very active Twitter account with the most up-to-date information on services and resources. Follow us now 

We have produced a number of Guides for students working remotely. You will find guides on planning and executing the right plan for your remote working schedule.

During these difficult times it is vitally important that everyone stays safe.

Whilst we in the Library and our colleagues across the wider University are working to deliver the best service to our students and staff , we must re-iterate that everyone has a part to play in curbing the spread of Corvid-19.

Please heed the advice of professionals and only follow information from reputable sources. The HSE are regularly updating their website HSE.ie where you can find out what everyone needs to do to stay safe. UCC has a dedicated page on their website with updates and guides for staff and students - https://www.ucc.ie/en/emt/covid19/ . Please regularly check in to these sites as they can be invaluable.

As our Director of Library Services , Colette McKenna , so eloquently says “Be kind to each other and take care of yourselves and each other. Let’s give each other the space to find our way through these challenging times and the time to find humanity and meaning here too."

Thank you and take care. - Library Staff


 

Many of our Regular Services are also available remotely. Please Click on the Tabs below for more details.