Skip to main content

Online Students: Online Resources

Accessing UCC Library Online Resources

The login for the Library's resources is the same as Your Student IT account sign on used for  PCs, email, Canvas etc. 

OneSearch

OneSearch searches across a lot of the Library print AND electronic resources at the same time, including:

  • Library Catalogue
  • Journals
  • Databases
  • Books, eBooks
  • Newspaper articles
  • Theses
  • Open Access resources

Information on how to use OneSearch

Quick Search

Databases to Start With:

Databases help you to discover what has been published in the journals, in your area of research. See the Subject Guide for suggestions for your area of research. The following are good multidisciplinary databases to use:

Theses & Newspapers

For access to UCC theses and theses from other Universities have a look at the Theses Guide. For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide.

Online Reference Works

See the Subject Support guides for Reference works available in your subject area.

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'journal' or 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’ or 'academic’ journal:  periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Finding E-journals

Find specific online journals and e-books by searching the E-Journals Portal 

E-books

The Library catalogue lists what we have in UCC Library. Do a search for your topic-

then choose to Modify Search by Online Resource to find e-books that you can access online:

In the catalogue record you will see a link to the e-book:

 

E-books

You can also choose to search for e-books only on the E-journals & E-books portal - see:

 

You can also Browse e-books by Subject category - and then by sub-category:

 

It is also possible to search within individual e-book Databases. A full list of e-book databases can be found here