UCC Library: Academic Integrity: Citation Styles

Harvard - Author-Date Style

The approved UCC version of Harvard referencing uses an author-date format for its in-text citations. It requires two elements:

• in-text citation within the body of the work

• full reference at the end of the work

Consult UCC’s Harvard Referencing Guide for the version of Harvard used in UCC. This guide follows the standard version found in the book Cite Them Right by Richard Pears and Graham Shields (hard copies located in the Boole Library on Q+3 floor at 808 PEAR).

UCC Harvard Referencing Guide

American Psychological Association (APA) - Author-Date Style

Basics of APA Style
From the APA, This tutorial is designed for those who have no previous knowledge of APA Style®. It shows users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples.
APA Style Introduction from Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)
These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 6th ed.
ISBN: 9781433805592
Publication Date: 2009
The style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioural sciences. It provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language.
APA Style Simplified [E-book] by Barney Beins
ISBN: 9781118289099
Publication Date: 2012
A compact but comprehensive guide to writing clearly and effectively in APA style. Demonstrates how to write objective scientific research papers using interesting prose.

Useful Guide to APA format
from Bibme (citation tool). Review the fundamentals of APA format and learn to cite several different source types using our detailed citation examples.

Chicago Style - two varieties: (1) notes and bibliography (common in Humanities) and (2) author-date (sciences & social sciences)

Chicago Manual of Style
includes FAQs and Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide with sample citations
Chicago style guide from Purdue University

The Chicago Manual of Style (17th Edition) by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017
This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords.

IEEE (numbered)

IEEE Citation Guidelines
How to Cite References: IEEE Documentation Style used primarily for electronics, engineering, telecommunications, computer science, and information technology reports.
IEEE Editorial Style manual
Section on editing references from p.5.

Modern Languages Association (MLA)

MLA Style Center
Works cited: a quick guide.
Complete Guide to MLA format
from Bibme (citation tool). Everything you need to know about MLA format is in this guide. Brush up on MLA basics and break down citations for multiple source types each with a real-life citation example to help you learn.
Annotated Bibliography in MLA
From Bibme: An annotated bibliography includes three items: an introduction, citations for each source, and a brief write-up of each source. These write-ups are the actual annotations.
Annotated Bibliography examples
via Bibme. (This sample annotated bibliography is courtesy of Prof. Robert Mugford, Scottsdale Community College, Scottsdale AZ. http://www.scottsdalecc.edu/mugford/bib.htm)

MLA Handbook (8th Edition) by The Modern Language Association of America
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook.

OSCOLA Ireland A comprehensive system of legal citation for Ireland

OSCOLA Ireland
Detailed information available here including the option to download a PDF copy of the guide
OSCOLA Ireland Quick Reference Guide
OSCOLA Ireland is adapted from Oxford University Standard for Citation Of Legal Authorities

Vancouver - numbered style commonly used in medicine and science

Citing Medicine: the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers [Internet]. 2nd ed.
Patrias K. Wendling DL, technical editor. Bethesda (MD): National Library of Medicine, 2015
Quick Reference guide
from UCD Library 2011