Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Archives Service: Archival Collections: Getting Started

Opening Hours of Library Archives

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email Special Collections & Archives as this email address is monitored regularly.

As per Irish Government direction from midnight 21 October for 6 weeks all counties are placed on Level 5 under the Plan for Living with COVID-19. The advice is: Stay at home with certain exceptions. Please note this time frame may be extended. 

Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5.

We are offering the following as alternate means of access to Special Collections & Archives:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.

About UCC Library Archives

An active collecting repository, the Library Archives Service collects and administers archival collections generated from outside UCC which complement the research and teaching needs of University College, Cork. 

Archives are records naturally created in the course of everyday business, public or private, which merit preservation because of their unique information content.

Archives include photographs & photograph albums; audio and audio visual recordings; computer disks and memory sticks; paper-based records: manuscripts, letters, diaries bound volumes; maps from landed estate collections; and artworks. They may also include entire collections from private individuals.

The word archives is also used to describe the building in which archival material is stored and accessed.

Spotlight on Archival Collection

Attic Press/Roisin Conroy Collection

The Archives of the Attic Press (BL/F/AP) were generated and collected by Róisin Conroy as co-founder and publisher of Attic Press and as an activist in the Irish Women's Movement. They were deposited in the Boole Library, UCC, by Conroy in 1997. The core sections of the collection relate to the activities of Conroy while working as a librarian within the research unit of the Irish Transport and General Workers Union (ITGWU), the Irish Feminist Information group (IFI) and the Attic Press. The collection provides a a reflection on the various facets of Conroy's career as a librarian and information officer, publisher, and campaigner for women's rights. The material dates from the early seventies to the 1990s. This is a collection which is of particular relevance to those with research interests in the areas of feminism, women's rights, and the social changes which occurred in the seventies and eighties.

Archives

Emer Twomey's picture
Emer Twomey
Contact:
Archivist,
Special Collections & Archives,
UCC Library,
University College Cork.
+353 (21) 490-3475
Website

Archives Service

Emma Horgan's picture
Emma Horgan
Contact:
Library Archivist,
Special Collections and Archives,
UCC Library,
University College Cork.
+353 (21) 490-3132