Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.
Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here
Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here
Reprographics includes photocopies, printouts, digital images and scans. Reprographics may occur depending on the size, format and condition of the material. Reprographics may not be permitted if an item is too fragile or if UCC Library is not the copyright holder.
Irish Copyright Law allows users to copy material under 'fair use.' There are certain restrictions:
Users can bring their own cameras (no flash photography is permitted) to take images of material, as permitted under Copyright Law, for purposes of private study, at no cost. Use of mobile phone and tablet cameras is permitted. A Reprographic Application form must be completed for each item copied. Staff can explain this process on the day of your visit. Consent of UCC Library is required for any other use, including publication (printed or online).
A self-service overhead scanner is available to researchers in Special Collections and Archives. Researchers are advised to bring their own USB key to save images. Please note some archival documents are outsize and cannot be captured by the scanner. In these cases it is advised to use personal cameras.
There are no self-service photocopiers available for any user of Archives. Archives' staff will do the photocopying to provide the best care of the collection. Photocopying and photographic reproduction services are available at a cost. This is determined by volume of material and type of reproduction method used.
Please seek permission from staff first before using any device to copy.
If images are taken by the user for private study/own use, then a reprographics application form needs to be completed for each item copied. The forms for private study/own use depend on the nature of the source material:
If images taken by the user for publication, then a reprographics application form needs to be completed for each item copied.
In addition if reprographics are required for publication then permission to use the material must be sought from the Archivist as UCC Library may not be the copyright holder. We can provide contact details of the material's copyright owner / legal estate, permissions will need to be cleared and granted in advance of any copying.
The forms are available from the Special Collections and Archives Desk and must be returned there upon completion.
If Archival material is being used in a publication then it must be cited.
Publications include but are not limited to:
The preferred method of citation is: Collection code, Item code, Box number Item's details
Permission to use the material must be sought from the Library Archivist.