Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Folklore and Ethnology/Bealoideas: Journals and Databases

Library Resources for Folklore & Ethnology/Bealoideas

Journals and eJournals

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journal Portal  (Search 'Journals' from the Library homepage)

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal:  periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Databases

  • Academic Search Complete multidisciplinary database.Provides access to almost 20 titles in Folklore and Ethnography
  • Humanities Full-text  provides access to almost 20 journals in Folklore
  • JSTOR  multidisciplinary database. Provides access to almost 30 titles in Folklore
  • MLA International Bibliography is a database of classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
  • Web of Science  book, journal and conference proceedings index

For further resources & access, see the full list of databases available at UCC Library.

Theses

For access to UCC theses and theses from other Universities refer to the Theses Guide.

BĂ©acsna

 'Béascna’, the UCC Journal of Folklore and Ethnology is one of only two scholarly journals in the Republic of Ireland publishing articles and reviews relating to Irish and European Folklore and Ethnology in general.  Published on a biennial basis initially, the journal is now  an annual publication of significant standing.