Job Opportunity: Head of Research Services, UCC Library

01/25/2022

Martin O'Connor

No Subjects

UCC wishes to appoint an experienced administrator to the role of Head of Research Services. Reporting to the Director of Library Services, the Head of Research Services - Library will lead the UCC Library Research Services team in developing and delivering a range of innovative services in support of robust, reproducible, and open research practices.

This new portfolio is designed to meet the rapidly developing and increasingly complex needs of researchers operating in a digital research and scholarship environment. It is intricately connected to the University’s strategic goals to strengthen UCC’s research impact, and the role holder will directly support University-level initiatives in this area.

The role holder will become the chief authority in the University on Open Science and by developing expertise in all aspects of OS will lead on the adoption of best practice in all research-related activity.

This is a great opportunity to grow and develop an amazing team

Closing Date: 24 February 2021. Details and Application at http://ore.ucc.ie

No Tags

Similar Posts

View All Posts

Interruption to Library Services: Wed. 7th Sept

09/01/2022

Mary Keane

0 Comments

Due to essential maintenance on Wednesday 7th September between 08:00 a.m. and midday approx. there will be no access to the following library services:- Library Catalogue Self-issue/returns units

No Subjects

Special Collections & Archives Launches Its First Colouring Book

02/08/2022

Mary Keane

0 Comments

From 7-11 February 2022 UCC Library's Special Collections & Archives launches its first colouring book as part of the annual international colouring festival on social media. We're sharing #ColorOurCollections images to spread awareness and better engagement with our collections by inspiring creativity and sparking curiosity.

Over the course of the week Elaine Harrington, John Rooney, Emma Horgan and Emer Twomey will share a series of #ColorOurCollections blog posts discussing how the process works.

Access the colouring book directly: #ColourOurCollections

Share your creations with us: #ColourOurCollections @UCCLibrary @theriversideUCC

No Subjects

Searching for Online versions of Print sources

04/22/2020

Paul Davidson

0 Comments

1. Check UCC Library's OneSearch. We have thousands of eJournals and eBooks available for use 24/7. Many publishers have allowed free or improved access to eBooks at this time. A full listing is available on the eBooks listing and is being updated as new resources are added.

2. Search the Internet Archive for digitised , largely 19th century publications. Hathi Trust or Gutenberg Project can also help.

3. Search the National Emergency Library to borrow any of the 1.5 million digitised 20th century books. Sign up for an account and 'borrow' up to 10 books for 14 days.

4. Try Google Books and Google Scholar . Make sure you are logged in with your UCC credentials as , if the book is there , you will have greater access to the resources.

5. If the book is based on someone's PhD thesis, it's worth checking that institution's institutional repository to find an uploaded version. There may also be copies forwarded to RIAN - Ireland's research repository.

6. If the book is based on someone's PhD thesis and they did their PhD in the UK , check EThOS where there might be full text or not.

7. Depending on how old the item is an online version may be available on Europeana, DPLA (US), Gallica (France), DDB(Germany), e-rara (Switzerland). These all hold digitised versions of books , but usually not 20th / 21st century.

8. It can be worth adding the book title and researchgate / academia into a Google Search box as sometimes the author has uploaded part of a book to their academic profile. If this is the case then you can contact the author themselves once the URL has been identified.

9. Sometimes database versions of books exist e.g. Loeb series.

10. If the item is in any way general rather than academic it can be worth checking BorrowBox with the public libraries. BorrowBox can be used on a smartphone / tablet / computer. If you don't have a public library account one can be set up immediately online.

A-Z General Guides